Search Results: "Ann Cameron"


BOOK REVIEW

MARY ANN by Betsy James
by Betsy James, illustrated by Betsy James
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 1994

"A note offers sensible advice on keeping a mantis. (Picture book. 4-8)"
When her best friend moves away, Amy feels bereft: ``I wish there were hundreds and hundreds of Mary Anns,'' she tells Daddy, imagining that it wouldn't matter, then, if one moved away. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANN TENNA by Marisa Acocella Marchetto
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Zany with a touch of uplifting. You will be measurably hipper after reading it."
A high-spirited graphic novel skewers the Twitterati. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SALLY ANN THUNDER ANN WHIRLWIND CROCKETT by Steven Kellogg
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"The straight-faced recounting of these far-fetched adventures is paced perfectly for a read-aloud; readers will yearn for Kellogg (who includes a careful source note) to hatch still more eggs from his storytelling basket. (Picture book/folklore. 6-10)"
A perennial favorite follows Kellogg's other tall tales (Mike Fink, 1992, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN'T-DANCE-CAMERON by Emily Dodd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2014

"Lovely to look at—and just kooky enough to keep readers engaged for the hoary message. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Can Cameron kick up a capercaillie ceilidh—a shindig, that is, a hoedown, a bird hop—in the ancient evergreen woodlands under the Cairngorms, or is he a grouse with two left feet? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KEISHA ANN CAN! by Daniel Kirk
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2008

"One caveat: Readers of a certain generation may find themselves reading aloud to the rhythm of the 'Candy Man' song. (Picture book. 4-7)"
With jaunty rhymes and a spunky heroine brimming with a go-to attitude, Kirk's sprightly tale encourages readers to let their inner star shine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY ANN IN AUTUMN by Armistead Maupin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 2, 2010

"Agreeable entertainment until the ridiculous denouement."
Maupin continues his popular Tales of the City saga (Michael Tolliver Lives, 2007, etc.) with the return to San Francisco of Mary Ann Singleton after 20 years in the cushy Connecticut suburbs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET LIFE OF AMANDA K. WOODS by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 1998

"Amanda is the story, and she's as funny as she is wise. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Amanda K. Woods, 12, is a girl to like'she just doesn't know it yet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLIAM CAMERON MENZIES by James Curtis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"While it can get bogged down in the minutiae of camera angles, set details, and the tedium of production, this is an illuminating, long-overdue book about the man who taught the world how to make a good film."
Curtis (Spencer Tracy, 2011, etc.) details just about every aspect of director and film production designer William Cameron Menzies (1896-1957).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THANKSGIVING FOR EMILY ANN by Teresa Johnston
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"While there are few books that even mention kids' complaints about the November holiday, the majority of Thanksgiving-themed books address gratitude much more meaningfully (and realistically). (Picture book. 3-5)"
A kid's perspective on Thanksgiving Day points out all the inconveniences of the holiday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAMERON AND THE GIRLS by Edward Averett
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 16, 2013

"Complex questions are carefully presented but answered too simply in this nevertheless intriguing exploration. (Fiction. 12-16)"
In an engaging if predictable cautionary tale, 14-year-old Cameron stops taking medications for his schizophreniform disorder and finds that his choice brings unwanted consequences. Read full book review >