Search Results: "Ann Cameron"


BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET LIFE OF AMANDA K. WOODS by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 1998

"Amanda is the story, and she's as funny as she is wise. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Amanda K. Woods, 12, is a girl to like'she just doesn't know it yet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA RISING by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 21, 2002

"Live and Learn' is the unstated theme, and by the end, readers will have a sense of what makes even Mrs. Yardley and Billy tick. (Fiction. 7-9)"
Having made it her mission to impart life information to middle-graders, Cameron brings Julian's friend Gloria (Gloria's Way, 2000) to the forefront once again for a series of edifying encounters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPUNKY TELLS ALL by Ann Cameron
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Readers ready for chapter books will delight in seeing the world through Spunky's eyes and powerful nose. (Fiction. 8-11)"
The beloved family of Julian and Huey Bates (The Stories Julian Tells, 1981, etc.) is back after a long hiatus. Spunky, their mixed-breed dog, hilariously reveals all about his humans and realizes his purpose in life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAISLEY HANOVER KISSES AND TELLS by Cameron Tuttle
FICTION
Released: July 1, 2010

"Jam-packed with snarky observations and razor-sharp dialogue, this is teen chick lit with a brain. (Fiction. YA)"
Sassy Paisley Hanover is back in action to defend her unpopular peers (aka the Unpops) in this spunky sequel to Paisley Hanover Acts Out (2008). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATURAL ENEMIES by Sara Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 22, 1993

"Nicely done eco-thriller in a fascinating African setting."
An American reporter attaches himself to the testy Kenyan policeman working to solve a gory murder discovered by the journalist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EVIDENCE ROOM by Cameron Harvey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 2, 2015

"A promising debut whose ending doesn't quite live up to the rest of the story."
A Florida police officer and a nurse tackle a cold case. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAR-FLUNG by Peter Cameron
Released: Sept. 25, 1991

"A weak, puppy-ish, unsatisfying collection."
Three stories at the book's end—all concerning the same Indiana family but all of whose characters are given long leash to act independently, non-conformingly, movingly—and the story ``Not the Point'' (a mother, having lost one teenage son to suicide, is anxious about her remaining teenage son's behavior) give notice that Cameron is able to write with emotional directness when he wants to. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WEEKEND by Peter Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1994

"Vigor and directness save Cameron's portrait of the chattering classes from preciosity; this fine storyteller is wise as well as clever."
What's planned as a peaceful summer weekend instead stirs up all its participants' insecurities in this beautifully modulated novel of relationships, Cameron's fourth work of fiction (after the story collection Far-Flung, 1991). Read full book review >