Search Results: "Ann Cameron"


BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET LIFE OF AMANDA K. WOODS by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 1998

"Amanda is the story, and she's as funny as she is wise. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Amanda K. Woods, 12, is a girl to like'she just doesn't know it yet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA RISING by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 21, 2002

"Live and Learn' is the unstated theme, and by the end, readers will have a sense of what makes even Mrs. Yardley and Billy tick. (Fiction. 7-9)"
Having made it her mission to impart life information to middle-graders, Cameron brings Julian's friend Gloria (Gloria's Way, 2000) to the forefront once again for a series of edifying encounters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPUNKY TELLS ALL by Ann Cameron
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Readers ready for chapter books will delight in seeing the world through Spunky's eyes and powerful nose. (Fiction. 8-11)"
The beloved family of Julian and Huey Bates (The Stories Julian Tells, 1981, etc.) is back after a long hiatus. Spunky, their mixed-breed dog, hilariously reveals all about his humans and realizes his purpose in life. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LET'S NOT DO THE TIME WARP AGAIN
by Mandy Wan

 

BOOK REPORT for The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Cover Story: I Weep for the Big Faced Future
BFF Charm: Meh
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: Show and Tell and Tell and Tell
Bonus Factors: Time Travel, The Future
Relationship Status: Hot and (Mostly) Cold

Cover Story: I Weep for the Big Faced Future

I don’t even know ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO MAKE AWESOME COMICS by Neill Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A friendly and engaging orientation for emerging comics creators, although the activity pages make this one for home collections rather than library use. (appendices) (Graphic nonfiction. 6-10)"
A cheerful guide offering a beginner's course in designing comics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAISLEY HANOVER KISSES AND TELLS by Cameron Tuttle
FICTION
Released: July 1, 2010

"Jam-packed with snarky observations and razor-sharp dialogue, this is teen chick lit with a brain. (Fiction. YA)"
Sassy Paisley Hanover is back in action to defend her unpopular peers (aka the Unpops) in this spunky sequel to Paisley Hanover Acts Out (2008). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATURAL ENEMIES by Sara Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 22, 1993

"Nicely done eco-thriller in a fascinating African setting."
An American reporter attaches himself to the testy Kenyan policeman working to solve a gory murder discovered by the journalist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EVIDENCE ROOM by Cameron Harvey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 2, 2015

"A promising debut whose ending doesn't quite live up to the rest of the story."
A Florida police officer and a nurse tackle a cold case. Read full book review >