Search Results: "Ann Cameron"


BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET LIFE OF AMANDA K. WOODS by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 1998

"Amanda is the story, and she's as funny as she is wise. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Amanda K. Woods, 12, is a girl to like'she just doesn't know it yet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA RISING by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 21, 2002

"Live and Learn' is the unstated theme, and by the end, readers will have a sense of what makes even Mrs. Yardley and Billy tick. (Fiction. 7-9)"
Having made it her mission to impart life information to middle-graders, Cameron brings Julian's friend Gloria (Gloria's Way, 2000) to the forefront once again for a series of edifying encounters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPUNKY TELLS ALL by Ann Cameron
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Readers ready for chapter books will delight in seeing the world through Spunky's eyes and powerful nose. (Fiction. 8-11)"
The beloved family of Julian and Huey Bates (The Stories Julian Tells, 1981, etc.) is back after a long hiatus. Spunky, their mixed-breed dog, hilariously reveals all about his humans and realizes his purpose in life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOK by Sharon Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 28, 2015

"Full of derring-do and double crosses, this romantic adventure is thoroughly engrossing. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
A clever homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel, set in a post-apocalyptic future Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"Cameron's power is his ability to distill a particular world and social experience with great specificity while still allowing the reader to access the deep well of our shared humanity. (Fiction. YA)"
Cameron's meticulously voiced novel begins as a comedy of manners, wittily disarticulating a certain class of New Yorker, so it takes the reader awhile to catch onto the fact that it's actually a story about the psychological pain that comes from loneliness and the difficulty in making emotional connections. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROPERTY OF THE STATE by Bill Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 7, 2016

"An eminently satisfying series opener for mystery fans who want their downtrodden detectives to be appealing, clever, and unafraid of action. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Foster teen Joey narrates events as he slowly uncovers a convoluted mystery, with a soupçon of romance added for spice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT COMES THE EVIL by Stella Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"Many characters but little character development, and the story luxuriates in gruesome details. Though Cameron (Second to None, 2012, etc.) obviously loves her characters, she assumes the reader's interest rather than earns it."
Two friends try to turn small-town gossip into a reasonable murder investigation when they discover a body and some clues that spur them on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLAND OF EXILES by Erica Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 14, 2017

"A fresh, original series starter bolstered by a dynamic protagonist and a welcome sense of depth."
Cameron (Assassins: Nemesis, 2017, etc.) tells a YA fantasy tale about a "nyshin"—a warrior, mage, and hunter—on a desert island rife with danger.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST A SUMMER FLING  by Cate Cameron
ROMANCE
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"A bright, warm, intelligent love story from a promising new voice in romance."
Invited to Vermont by a Hollywood acquaintance, movie star Ashley Carlsen meets local handyman Josh Sullivan, who has a reputation as a local player but doesn't seem to want anything to do with her.Read full book review >