Search Results: "Anna Godbersen"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LUXE by Anna Godbersen
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Dec. 1, 2007

"A delicious new twist along the Gossip Girl vein, readers will clamor for this sharp, smart drama of friends, lovers, lies and betrayal. (Fiction. YA)"
A big, sumptuous tale of catty girls, dark secrets and windswept romance unfurls in this compulsively readable novel of late-19th-century New York City socialites. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOM by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: March 23, 2010

"A companion, I Love My Dad (ISBN: 978-1-4169-8319-4; April 2010), treats Ollie's relationship with his dad with a similarly light touch. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Ollie B., a gray-and-white striped creature with long ears and floppy legs, tells readers just how he and his mom spend time together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COLOR MONSTER by Anna Llenas
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Bright and buoyant. (Pop-up picture book. 5-8)"
A child helps a mixed-up monster sort out its feelings in this inventive pop-up import from Spain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LLAMA LLAMA TRICK OR TREAT by Anna Dewdney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 19, 2014

"This simple holiday title will win Llama Llama new fans, and old friends will want to add it and its companion to their collections. (Board book. 1-2)"
In this board book designed for the littlest llama lovers, adorable-as-ever Llama Llama (Llama Llama Red Pajama, 2005, etc.) gets ready for some Halloween fun. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS BELONGS TO ME by Anna Wray
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2013

"All in all, nifty stuff for the artistically inclined. (Nonfiction. 9-14)"
Snazzy! Funky! Cool stuff, not boring! Somehow the vocabulary seems a little dated, but the idea is fairly neat: making stencils, collages and other items to personalize backpacks, tabletops, jeans and even your skin (jagua or henna tattoos). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LLAMA LLAMA, TIME TO SHARE by Anna Dewdney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"A solid addition to the popular series for toddlers and preschoolers. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Dewdney's newest Llama Llama picture book delivers a lesson in social skills to its camelid protagonist and its young readers, too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROLY POLY PANGOLIN by Anna Dewdney
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2010

"Roly, alas, is no Llama Llama. (note on pangolins) (Picture book. 2-5)"
Roly Poly is a pangolin, a small, endangered mammal covered with scales found mainly in Africa, China and Southeast Asia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE CHRISTMAS by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"This would be an excellent choice for a toddler's first book about the Christmas season and could also serve as an early reader. (Picture book. 1-6)"
Ollie is a gray-striped animal, perhaps a toy rabbit or zebra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERE COMES THE NIGHT by Anna Rockwell
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: May 1, 2006

"A wonderful addition to the venerable sleepy-time tradition. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The veteran Rockwell offers a soft and beautifully constructed bedtime story with a lovely series of hand-printed monotypes—single prints on pale blue paper—for her illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUR LOVE GROWS by Anna Pignataro
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"Skip. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A mother's gently rhyming answer to her child's "when will I be big?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Here's hoping that Peggy has many more big adventures. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A charmer of a chicken has a big adventure in this import from Australia. Read full book review >