Search Results: "Anna King"


BOOK REVIEW

BASTARDS by Mary Anna King
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 22, 2015

"A poignant memoir that thoughtfully examines a set of difficult and unique family relationships."
A young woman's account of how a dysfunctional family situation caused her to become separated from her six siblings but how all seven still managed to reconnect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"A page-turning mystery with romance, humanity, standout characters and a heroic 75-year-old psychic as the lead."
A rabbi's 75-year-old mother develops her psychic abilities to catch the culprit behind a brutal attack in this mystery, a first novel for King under this pseudonym. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A READING YEAR: JUDGING CRIME WORKS BY DIFFERENT STANDARDS
by J. Kingston Pierce

Back when I began writing for Kirkus Reviews, almost half a decade ago, I had an editor who was frequently after me to publish lists of things—rundowns of especially dependable crime novelists, or books I’d like to read again for the first time, or once-popular detectives about whom I thought more should be written. “People like to read lists,” ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

27 SCIENCE FICTION, FANTASY & HORROR BOOKS TO READ IN SEPTEMBER
by John DeNardo

Is your bookshelf feeling lonely? Here are 27 titles that will make it happy again! This month's batch of tantalizing science fiction and fantasy includes stories about guilt-ridden robots, witches, magic hair, designer drugs, time travel and cloud cities.

Magicians Impossible by Brad Abraham

Brad Abraham serves up a cocktail of magic and intrigue in this fast-paced debut. Twenty-something ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

KING GROSSMAN
by Poornima Apte

King Grossman had just returned from participating in the Dakota Access Pipeline protests when Kirkus caught up with him. His desire to become an active citizen informs the backbone of his debut indie venture, Letters to Alice. The novel has a feel for the zeitgeist of our times with Occupy Wall Street and the Arab Spring woven into its threads ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOM by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: March 23, 2010

"A companion, I Love My Dad (ISBN: 978-1-4169-8319-4; April 2010), treats Ollie's relationship with his dad with a similarly light touch. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Ollie B., a gray-and-white striped creature with long ears and floppy legs, tells readers just how he and his mom spend time together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUINCEAÑERA by Elizabeth King
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"With plenty of historical background, and also available in Spanish (0-525-45844-1), this has appeal for a wide audience. (Nonfiction. 10-15)"
The artful blend of photography and text combine to provide a poignant glimpse into the lives of two young Latina women, Cindy Chavez and Suzan Preito, as they ceremoniously enter adulthood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CUSTER by Deborah King
ANIMALS
Released: April 29, 1992

"Like Parnall's Stuffer (below), a treat for horse lovers and art lovers; of the two books, this has more warmth and appeal. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Young Custer is perfectly happy on a farm where he snitches food from the farmhouse kitchen and enjoys the company of cows. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPING BEAUTIES by Stephen King
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 26, 2017

"A blood-splattered pleasure. It's hard to say what the deeper message of the book is save that life goes on despite the intercession of supernatural weirdnesses—or, as one woman says, 'I guess I really must not be dead, because I'm starving.'"
Another horror blockbuster, Mercedes and all, from maestro King (End of Watch, 2016, etc.) and his heir apparent (Double Feature, 2013, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LLAMA LLAMA GRAM AND GRANDPA by Anna Dewdney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"For longtime fans and new readers of the beloved Llama Llama series alike, this won't disappoint. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Llama Llama reaches another childhood milestone—his first sleepover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TOWER OF GIRAFFES by Anna Wright
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"This brief, exquisite overview may well have readers wishing for a sequel—or consulting reference books to find out more collective nouns. (Informational picture book. 4-9)"
From a gaggle of geese to an ostentation of peacocks, a gathering of collective nouns. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AGATHA by Anna Pignataro
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"Though it's certainly well-meaning, it lacks the wit that brings such schoolroom dramas as Kevin Henkes' and Peter McCarty's alive. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Even in a world populated by anthropomorphic animals of all sorts, Agatha stands out. Read full book review >