Search Results: "Anne Holt"


BOOK REVIEW

1222 by Anne Holt
by Anne Holt, translated by Marlaine Delargy
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Holt (What Is Mine, 2006, etc.) makes curmudgeonly Hanna the perfectly astringent guide to this nightmare whodunit out of Ellery Queen's The Siamese Twin Mystery and Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None."
A train accident strands retired Inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen in the middle of a fierce snowstorm with 268 other passengers, one of whom begins to murder the others in this brainy page-turner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND THE TRUTH by Anne Holt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"The detection is labored, but the family of suspects is memorably monstrous, and Holt (No Echo, 2016, etc.) even finds time for a welcome and touching Christmas miracle. Ho, ho, ho."
Chief Inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen rings in the most wonderful time of the year by investigating a murderous assault on the clan connected with an Oslo shipping company. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT NEVER HAPPENS by Anne Holt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 13, 2008

"Norwegian author Holt (What Is Mine, 2006) can deftly lead the reader to wrong conclusions and ratchet up the tension almost unbearably, but there's a sadly synthetic quality to Stubo and Johanne's nemesis, who's lining up to be their foe next time out as well."
A flamboyantly gruesome murder spree challenges Norwegian special-crimes investigator Adam Stubo and his wife, profiler Johanne Vik. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAD JOKER by Anne Holt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 26, 2016

"Once again, Holt spices her procedural, whose irresistible setup isn't matched by its anticlimactic solution, with urgent news of her heroine's personal life that eventually eclipses the mystery."
The murder of the Chief Public Prosecutor's wife sends shock waves through the Oslo law enforcement community as police officers and attorneys find themselves in unexpectedly uncomfortable roles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLIND GODDESS by Tom Geddes
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 5, 2012

"Fans of Henning Mankell's majestically lumbering police procedurals will relish every twist in the long road to resolution. Less patient readers should look to Hanne's later adventures."
Politics and drugs make uneasy bedfellows in this first case for Hanne Wilhelmsen, the Oslo police inspector most recently seen on these shores in 1222 (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ODD NUMBERS by Anne Holt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 6, 2017

"A prophetic counterterrorist procedural whose bold central conceit is likely to grow more depressingly plausible with every passing week."
Eleven years after she's sidelined from the Oslo police department by a bullet to the back, retired DI Hanne Wilhelmsen rejoins her old friend Billy T. to root out a particularly virulent cell of terrorists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO ECHO by Anne Holt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Though it's good to see Holt's detective back in the saddle, her return case is tangled and forgettable, with the most intriguing features sadly underdeveloped."
Franchise owner Holt (Blind Goddess, 2016, etc.) teams up with Reiss-Andersen to bring Chief Inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen back from her grief-soaked stay in Verona to rejoin Oslo's Violent Crime Section. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IS MINE by Anne Holt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 10, 2006

"Based on a true Norwegian murder case, Holt's work is cerebral, complicated and immensely rewarding."
A savvy, sharply delineated suspense novel from Norwegian crime author Holt delves into the haunting motivation of a child-abductor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH OF THE DEMON by Anne Holt
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 18, 2013

"Not the finest hour for Hanne (Blind Goddess, 2012, etc.) and her detective team, who are equally upstaged by the unforgettable 12-year-old at the heart of the matter."
The murder of an Oslo foster home director points, inexplicably and disturbingly, to her latest charge. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ALL THAT GLITTERS
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for The Gold-Son by Carrie Anne Noble

Cover Story: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave
BFF Charms: Oda Mae Brown, Natalie Imbruglia
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: Folkloric
Bonus Factor: Leprechauns
Anti-Bonus Factor: Awful Grownups
Relationship Status: Hiding My Valuables

Cover Story: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave

When first we practice to deceive … or ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ANNE HELEN PETERSEN
by Megan Labrise

When Anne Helen Petersen pitched Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman in 2015, famous female iconoclasts were having a massive moment.

Amy Schumer’s Trainwreck led the box office. Broad City and Girls ruled TV. Serena Williams dominated tennis. And Hillary Rodham Clinton on her way to becoming the 45th President of the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WOMEN AND MATH, WOMEN AND SCIENCE, WOMEN AND STEM
by Leila Roy

Hello, my friends!

As I said earlier this week, I am COMPLETELY BURIED under a pile of reading for the Amelia Bloomer Project committee. At the moment, I’m halfway through Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race, which I am LOVING. It’s a great ...


Read the full post >