Search Results: "Anne Keenan Higgins"


BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (SUPER-SECRET SPY GIRL) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of Jules' previous books will enjoy seeing the soon-to-be-third-grader back in action as she exuberantly experiences the busy life of a budding television and film star. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Even though she'll be spending it in Quebec filming a movie, child actress Jules' summer is not off to a good start. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)—this time for a television sitcom—with New York City-sized tension and hilarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUTTING ON THE RITZ by Joe Keenan
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

"An ebullient, overplotted tour of New York's brutish high life that's zany, arch, and gay in every sense of the word."
In a knockabout sequel to Blue Heaven (1988), songwriter Philip Cavanaugh agrees to write a set of tunes for untalented would-be songbird Elsa Champion—as a cover for spying on her boorish super- rich husband Peter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR QUARTERS OF LIGHT by Brian Keenan
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Keenan's self-deprecating humor and eagerness to learn set this apart from many travelogues."
Where does an Irishman go after reading The Call of the Wild? To the Arctic Circle, of course. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 15, 2006

"Adventuresome and enlightening brain candy for the jet set."
A devilishly witty travelogue from a globetrotting expatriate's wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN EVIL CRADLING by Brian Keenan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"Harrowing; exalting; unforgettable."
A hostage memoir unlike any other—because from the nearly unimaginable degradations that Keenan, a working-class Irishman, suffered for four and a half years at the hands of Muslim extremists, he's woven not only a compelling tale of endurance but an indelible testament to, as he puts it, ``the richness, perhaps even enchantment, of humanity.'' In 1986, Keenan, then 36 and teaching in Beirut, was snatched by Shi'ite gunmen—an act he describes in the kind of penetrative detail that distinguishes his narrative: ``I noticed two of [the gunmen] breathing very fast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ART OF THE POSSIBLE by Edward Keenan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Choice insights into the larger notion of politics as expressed through government, but the road is long between discerning nuggets. (glossary, sources, acknowledgments, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
An optimistically presented introduction to politics, mostly American, for those who don't even vote. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Not a necessary purchase. (Nonfiction. 3-4)"
"The powerful symbols in this book stand for what the United States stands for: liberty, equality, and freedom." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ALL THAT GLITTERS
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for The Gold-Son by Carrie Anne Noble

Cover Story: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave
BFF Charms: Oda Mae Brown, Natalie Imbruglia
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: Folkloric
Bonus Factor: Leprechauns
Anti-Bonus Factor: Awful Grownups
Relationship Status: Hiding My Valuables

Cover Story: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave

When first we practice to deceive … or ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ANNE HELEN PETERSEN
by Megan Labrise

When Anne Helen Petersen pitched Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman in 2015, famous female iconoclasts were having a massive moment.

Amy Schumer’s Trainwreck led the box office. Broad City and Girls ruled TV. Serena Williams dominated tennis. And Hillary Rodham Clinton on her way to becoming the 45th President of the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRENCH ANGEL by Michael Keenan Gutierrez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"By turns lyrical and brutal, Gutierrez stretches an intriguing piece of historical fiction to cover multiple themes."
Gutierrez's debut sets the industrialized murder of World War I as backdrop to the murderous industry of coal mining in the American West circa 1919. Read full book review >