Search Results: "Anne Keenan Higgins"


BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (SUPER-SECRET SPY GIRL) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of Jules' previous books will enjoy seeing the soon-to-be-third-grader back in action as she exuberantly experiences the busy life of a budding television and film star. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Even though she'll be spending it in Quebec filming a movie, child actress Jules' summer is not off to a good start. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)—this time for a television sitcom—with New York City-sized tension and hilarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUTTING ON THE RITZ by Joe Keenan
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

"An ebullient, overplotted tour of New York's brutish high life that's zany, arch, and gay in every sense of the word."
In a knockabout sequel to Blue Heaven (1988), songwriter Philip Cavanaugh agrees to write a set of tunes for untalented would-be songbird Elsa Champion—as a cover for spying on her boorish super- rich husband Peter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 15, 2006

"Adventuresome and enlightening brain candy for the jet set."
A devilishly witty travelogue from a globetrotting expatriate's wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR QUARTERS OF LIGHT by Brian Keenan
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Keenan's self-deprecating humor and eagerness to learn set this apart from many travelogues."
Where does an Irishman go after reading The Call of the Wild? To the Arctic Circle, of course. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN EVIL CRADLING by Brian Keenan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"Harrowing; exalting; unforgettable."
A hostage memoir unlike any other—because from the nearly unimaginable degradations that Keenan, a working-class Irishman, suffered for four and a half years at the hands of Muslim extremists, he's woven not only a compelling tale of endurance but an indelible testament to, as he puts it, ``the richness, perhaps even enchantment, of humanity.'' In 1986, Keenan, then 36 and teaching in Beirut, was snatched by Shi'ite gunmen—an act he describes in the kind of penetrative detail that distinguishes his narrative: ``I noticed two of [the gunmen] breathing very fast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ART OF THE POSSIBLE by Edward Keenan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Choice insights into the larger notion of politics as expressed through government, but the road is long between discerning nuggets. (glossary, sources, acknowledgments, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
An optimistically presented introduction to politics, mostly American, for those who don't even vote. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Not a necessary purchase. (Nonfiction. 3-4)"
"The powerful symbols in this book stand for what the United States stands for: liberty, equality, and freedom." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRENCH ANGEL by Michael Keenan Gutierrez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"By turns lyrical and brutal, Gutierrez stretches an intriguing piece of historical fiction to cover multiple themes."
Gutierrez's debut sets the industrialized murder of World War I as backdrop to the murderous industry of coal mining in the American West circa 1919. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LUCKY STAR by Joe Keenan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 25, 2006

"Keenan freshens his obvious model, Noël Coward's drawing-room farces, by restoring the gay sex Coward had to edit out."
A pair of comedy writers are lured to Hollywood, where their troubles swiftly swell to epic proportions in this catty, overplotted farce from the longtime writer/producer of Frasier.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FULL MARKS FOR TRYING by Brigid Keenan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Keenan understands how much the world has changed and hopes her story will resonate with reflective readers who will appreciate her brief but warm glance back in time."
A memoir about "what it was like to grow up…in the 1940s, '50s, and '60s in a family that was, like Britain itself, facing and adapting to the enormous changes taking place around us with gathering speed." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEX WITH SHAKESPEARE by Jillian Keenan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 26, 2016

"A raunchy memoir revealing a visceral connection to the Bard."
With a fetish for being spanked, Keenan sees sex in nearly every Shakespearean play. Read full book review >