Search Results: "Annie Fox"


BOOK REVIEW

FOX by Caroline Arnold
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"A useful index is included but the book's great strengths are its clear, highly informative text, and Hewett's stunning photos of these beautiful animals in their natural habitat, which, alas, is fast disappearing. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
Another entry about animals from frequent collaborators (Killer Whale, 1994, etc.), and this one's a gem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOX by Kate Banks
Kirkus Star
by Kate Banks, illustrated by Georg Hallensleben
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 5, 2007

"Hallensleben's lush, brushy landscapes of sunny greens and moonlit blues, his coppery, winsome fox pup and Banks's wise, spare lines combine for a package sure to gratify preschoolers and caregivers alike. (Picture book. 2-6)"
The team behind The Great Blue House (2005) bestows yet another treat, this time tracing the maturation of a fox pup from his spring birth to fall, as he leaves his parents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOX by Margaret Wild
by Margaret Wild, illustrated by Ron Brooks
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

Ambiguities and rawly expressionistic art turn this tale of friendship and temptation from the creators of Rosie and the Tortoise (1999) into a strongly atmospheric psycho-fable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AVALANCHE ANNIE by Lisa Wheeler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider ('Swamp Angel'), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The tale's tall, even if its hero isn't, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide's awesome exploit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AXLE ANNIE by Robin Pulver
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Arnold's spunky illustrations capture the tongue-in-cheek spirit of the text and his characterization of the curmudgeonly Shifty help make this blustery tale the perfect antidote for the winter doldrums. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pulver (Homer and the House Next Door, 1994, etc.) delivers a rambunctious wintry tall tale about how a valiant bus driver, Axle Annie, defeats a dastardly scheme concocted by fellow driver Shifty Rhodes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR ANNIE by Judith Caseley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 19, 1991

"The subtext here- -the value of written communication—is disarmingly wrapped in the warmly depicted relationship between generations, nicely extended in the cheerful illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In describing a correspondence between a child and her grandfather, Caseley deftly outlines the girl's growth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE DUNNE by Sebastian Barry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 26, 2002

"Continuous pleasures, of character and language, in a book about life itself, with never a false note."
Second-novelist Sebastian (The Whereabouts of Eneas McNulty, 1998) returns with a tone-perfect and powerfully engaging tale of a rural spinster who wonders what life can possibly be for. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE SALEM by Mac Wellman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 4, 1996

"A wacky blend of fantasy, whimsy, and satire from an author who clearly knows what he's doing, even if almost no one else will."
Eccentric and appealing fiction from the prolific, Obie-winning Wellman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE OAKLEY by Shirl Kasper
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1992

"A bit wide of the mark but with a worthy enough target to warrant readers giving it a shot. (Thirty illustrations.)"
A fact-filled, if flatly executed, attempt to uncover the truth behind an American legend, by Kansas City Star reporter Kasper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE & CO. by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 1991

"Whimsical but sweet; the quiet mood is nicely supported by the illustrations' aura of tender concern. (Fiction/Young reader. 6-9)"
Annie (6) is so good at fixing things that her father gives her a tool chest; with her pony cart as a fix-it shop, she goes out into the world, where she finds plenty to do: removing a mouse from a cello so that it plays sweetly again; bandaging a goose's broken wing; even, as ``captain'' of her cart, marrying a couple. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAIL-ORDER ANNIE by Fyodor Bukowski
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2016

"A tale with some well-written passages, but its narrator's misogyny and narcissism will appeal only to like-minded readers."
In Bukowski's debut novel, an English teacher weaves his hopes about a young Ukrainian woman he's met online with tales of tending to his cats and going to strip clubs. Read full book review >