Search Results: "Annie Jacobsen"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"How Dr. Strangelove came to America and thrived, told in graphic detail."
The story of how perpetrators of World War II were treated as spoils of war, brought to light with new information in this diligent report. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 17, 2011

"As readers will see, it'll be hard to double-check Jacobsen's reporting, so leaps of faith are required. But Jacobsen provides an endlessly fascinating—and quite scary—book."
Weird doings are afoot, aliens are among us and so is Raytheon—all stories that figure in Los Angeles Times Magazine contributing editor Jacobsen's supremely odd book on that most classified of American military installations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 28, 2017

"The occultly inclined will be duly enchanted. The materialists—well, not so much."
Jacobsen (The Pentagon's Brain: An Uncensored History of DARPA, America's Top-Secret Military Research Agency, 2015, etc.) journeys into the realm where the paranormal and the bureaucratic meet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Filled with the intrigue and high stakes of a spy novel, Jacobsen's history of DARPA is as much a fascinating testament to human ingenuity as it is a paean to endless industrial warfare and the bureaucracy of the military-industrial complex."
The history of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, the military's top-secret research and development agency. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AVALANCHE ANNIE by Lisa Wheeler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider ('Swamp Angel'), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The tale's tall, even if its hero isn't, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide's awesome exploit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AXLE ANNIE by Robin Pulver
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Arnold's spunky illustrations capture the tongue-in-cheek spirit of the text and his characterization of the curmudgeonly Shifty help make this blustery tale the perfect antidote for the winter doldrums. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pulver (Homer and the House Next Door, 1994, etc.) delivers a rambunctious wintry tall tale about how a valiant bus driver, Axle Annie, defeats a dastardly scheme concocted by fellow driver Shifty Rhodes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR ANNIE by Judith Caseley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 19, 1991

"The subtext here- -the value of written communication—is disarmingly wrapped in the warmly depicted relationship between generations, nicely extended in the cheerful illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In describing a correspondence between a child and her grandfather, Caseley deftly outlines the girl's growth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE DUNNE by Sebastian Barry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 26, 2002

"Continuous pleasures, of character and language, in a book about life itself, with never a false note."
Second-novelist Sebastian (The Whereabouts of Eneas McNulty, 1998) returns with a tone-perfect and powerfully engaging tale of a rural spinster who wonders what life can possibly be for. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE SALEM by Mac Wellman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 4, 1996

"A wacky blend of fantasy, whimsy, and satire from an author who clearly knows what he's doing, even if almost no one else will."
Eccentric and appealing fiction from the prolific, Obie-winning Wellman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE OAKLEY by Shirl Kasper
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1992

"A bit wide of the mark but with a worthy enough target to warrant readers giving it a shot. (Thirty illustrations.)"
A fact-filled, if flatly executed, attempt to uncover the truth behind an American legend, by Kansas City Star reporter Kasper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE & CO. by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 1991

"Whimsical but sweet; the quiet mood is nicely supported by the illustrations' aura of tender concern. (Fiction/Young reader. 6-9)"
Annie (6) is so good at fixing things that her father gives her a tool chest; with her pony cart as a fix-it shop, she goes out into the world, where she finds plenty to do: removing a mouse from a cello so that it plays sweetly again; bandaging a goose's broken wing; even, as ``captain'' of her cart, marrying a couple. Read full book review >