Search Results: "Annie Lee"


BOOK REVIEW

WAIT AND SEE, ANNIE LEE by Michelle Curry Wright
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 8, 2001

"Starts out fresh and funny, then turns awfully cute awfully fast. Still, the story is entertaining, and the author has a talent for quirky characterization."
Amusing if overextended debut about the misadventures of a Colorado waitress. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE by Tito Perdue
Released: Aug. 15, 1991

"A promising debut."
A first novel that follows an old man, a kind of Old Testament prophet full of books and anger at the age, as he wanders— sometimes violently—through the modern urban world and into his own past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AVALANCHE ANNIE by Lisa Wheeler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider ('Swamp Angel'), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The tale's tall, even if its hero isn't, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide's awesome exploit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AXLE ANNIE by Robin Pulver
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Arnold's spunky illustrations capture the tongue-in-cheek spirit of the text and his characterization of the curmudgeonly Shifty help make this blustery tale the perfect antidote for the winter doldrums. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pulver (Homer and the House Next Door, 1994, etc.) delivers a rambunctious wintry tall tale about how a valiant bus driver, Axle Annie, defeats a dastardly scheme concocted by fellow driver Shifty Rhodes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR ANNIE by Judith Caseley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 19, 1991

"The subtext here- -the value of written communication—is disarmingly wrapped in the warmly depicted relationship between generations, nicely extended in the cheerful illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In describing a correspondence between a child and her grandfather, Caseley deftly outlines the girl's growth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE DUNNE by Sebastian Barry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 26, 2002

"Continuous pleasures, of character and language, in a book about life itself, with never a false note."
Second-novelist Sebastian (The Whereabouts of Eneas McNulty, 1998) returns with a tone-perfect and powerfully engaging tale of a rural spinster who wonders what life can possibly be for. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE MARVIN by Dwayne Epstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 19, 2013

"A well-paced, thoughtful examination of a singular corpus of work that influenced film portrayals of violence in subsequent decades."
A generous biography of Oscar-winning actor Lee Marvin (1924-1987), best known for his roles in The Dirty Dozen and Point Blank. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE SALEM by Mac Wellman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 4, 1996

"A wacky blend of fantasy, whimsy, and satire from an author who clearly knows what he's doing, even if almost no one else will."
Eccentric and appealing fiction from the prolific, Obie-winning Wellman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE OAKLEY by Shirl Kasper
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1992

"A bit wide of the mark but with a worthy enough target to warrant readers giving it a shot. (Thirty illustrations.)"
A fact-filled, if flatly executed, attempt to uncover the truth behind an American legend, by Kansas City Star reporter Kasper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE & CO. by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 1991

"Whimsical but sweet; the quiet mood is nicely supported by the illustrations' aura of tender concern. (Fiction/Young reader. 6-9)"
Annie (6) is so good at fixing things that her father gives her a tool chest; with her pony cart as a fix-it shop, she goes out into the world, where she finds plenty to do: removing a mouse from a cello so that it plays sweetly again; bandaging a goose's broken wing; even, as ``captain'' of her cart, marrying a couple. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIFFERENT LEE by Bill Hiatt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 18, 2016

"A mostly sturdy foundation for a fantasy series that arms its hero with powers, sidekicks, and motivation."
In Hiatt's (The Devil Hath the Power, 2016, etc.) fantasy novel, a Korean-American man discovers long-dormant supernatural abilities and finds that an evil sorcerer wants his blood.Read full book review >