Search Results: "Annie Leonard"


BOOK REVIEW

LEONARD by Timothy  Penner
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2012

"Well told, cleverly illustrated and beautifully supported with interactive surprises that make sense and are great fun, this is a stellar example of iPad storytelling. (iPad storybook app. 4-8)"
Imagination makes all the difference in this story of one boy's quest for new friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEONARD by William Shatner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 16, 2016

"A fond remembrance of Leonard Nimoy by one who knew him like no other."
In the original Star Trek series, Mr. Spock's contemplative temperament was balanced by Capt. Kirk's emotive and physical nature. Now it's the captain's turn to reflect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 9, 2010

"An earnest, reasoned contribution to the national conversation on sustainability."
Environmental activist Leonard debuts with a critical examination of the effects of human consumption on the global environment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 11, 2006

"A closely reasoned, well-researched and eminently fair account of a gifted and giving man who married a miracle."
A generous and sympathetic portrait of the complex and fiercely intelligent man (1880-1969) who is best known as Mr. Virginia Woolf. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEONARD BERNSTEIN by Meryle Secrest
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 1994

"Another book for the growing shelf from which some Maynard Solomon or musical Walter Jackson Bate will have to winnow when the time comes to write a critical biography rather than the Bernstein story. (100 b&w photos) (First printing of 35,000)"
Another big Lenny B. bio, jam-packed with accomplishment and angst. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEONARD BERNSTEIN by Allen Shawn
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A nearly impossible task, recording this lush life, but Shawn helps us comprehend the magic."
A few luscious slices from the massive cake that was the life of the great pianist, composer, conductor and public personality (1918-1990). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEONARD BERNSTEIN by Humphrey Burton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1994

"Simply the best of the Bernstein biographies so far. (First printing of 60,000; Book-of-the-Month Club/Quality Paperback Book Club selection; ad/promo)"
A sensitive, well-balanced account of the great American maestro's life and works. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEONARD BERNSTEIN by Johanna Hurwitz
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"Chronology; bibliography; index not seen. (Biography. 10-14)"
An interesting, well-balanced biography of this phenomenon of the 20th-century American musical scene, emphasizing the many facets of Bernstein's achievement (pianist/conductor/composer/media personality) and his identity as a Jew, and wisely (for this audience) ignoring the details of his convoluted personal life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR ANNIE by Judith Caseley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 19, 1991

"The subtext here- -the value of written communication—is disarmingly wrapped in the warmly depicted relationship between generations, nicely extended in the cheerful illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In describing a correspondence between a child and her grandfather, Caseley deftly outlines the girl's growth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AVALANCHE ANNIE by Lisa Wheeler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider ('Swamp Angel'), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The tale's tall, even if its hero isn't, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide's awesome exploit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AXLE ANNIE by Robin Pulver
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Arnold's spunky illustrations capture the tongue-in-cheek spirit of the text and his characterization of the curmudgeonly Shifty help make this blustery tale the perfect antidote for the winter doldrums. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pulver (Homer and the House Next Door, 1994, etc.) delivers a rambunctious wintry tall tale about how a valiant bus driver, Axle Annie, defeats a dastardly scheme concocted by fellow driver Shifty Rhodes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAP AND LEONARD by Joe R. Lansdale
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2016

"No one currently working the field demonstrates more convincingly and joyously the deep affinity between pulp fiction and the American tall tale."
Seven laid-back adventures, one of them brand new, for "freelance troubleshooter" and good old boy Hap Collins and his gay black Republican partner Leonard Pine. Read full book review >