Search Results: "Annie Murphy Paul"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 22, 2004

"Forthright criticism that promoters of tests as well as those who rely on them will find impossible to ignore."
A well-documented and highly readable critique of personality tests, examining their development, flaws, and applications. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by A.N. Wilson
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1997

In a worthy companion volume to his Jesus: A Life (1992), novelist-biographer Wilson (A Watch in the Night, 1996, etc.) adeptly recreates the milieu of Christianity's greatest interpreter and missionary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by Jerome Murphy-O'Connor
NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 1996

"Acts, though historically imprecise, makes for a much better story."
A dry historical tome that would be more aptly titled ``Paul: A Cultural History.'' The difficulties of doing ancient biography are compounded when one of the two major sources available is believed to be historically unreliable and corrupt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Paul by Gesner Noel
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2016

"An excellent single-volume introduction to Christianity's first theologian."
A brief but thorough account of St. Paul's life and an analysis of its significance in the subsequent development of Christianity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIDDLE MURPHY by Mark Costello
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1991

Six stories, a return of Michael Murphy from Costello's The Murphy Stories, that are uneven but filled with a marvelous sense of detail and affectionate satire: they manage ironically to deflate their midwestern subjects without turning mean-spirited. ``Young Republican'' is a series of carefully modulated vignettes about the narrator's father, a Republican County Chairman, ``forty-eight years old when I was born,'' who gets punched in the nose by a hired hand for political reasons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUDLEY MURPHY by Susan Delson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"A balanced portrait of a man and a panorama of his times, told with exceptional grace."
Dudley Murphy (1867-1968) doesn't bear a household name like vaunted film directors John Ford or King Vidor, but, as chronicled by Delson, his ambitious career out-barnstormed them all—even if it often only sputtered in the public eye. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURPHY, GOLD RUSH DOG  by Alison Hart
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"An adventure-filled tale set within a fascinating period of history. (historical note, bibliography, further reading) (Historical fiction. 7-10)"
Historical fiction for dog lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THOMAS MURPHY by Roger Rosenblatt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"A colorful man nears his demise with a bit o' philosophizing and a song."
An elderly poet delivers a chatty, comic monologue on sex, death, life, and getting the girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOTHER MURPHY by Colleen O’Shaughnessy McKenna
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1992

"A welcome addition to the series about Collette and her loving family. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Collette's world turns upside down when she learns that her mother is expecting a fifth child, but in the end the Murphys work together to avoid losing a baby they discover they all very much want. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AVALANCHE ANNIE by Lisa Wheeler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider ('Swamp Angel'), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The tale's tall, even if its hero isn't, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide's awesome exploit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AXLE ANNIE by Robin Pulver
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Arnold's spunky illustrations capture the tongue-in-cheek spirit of the text and his characterization of the curmudgeonly Shifty help make this blustery tale the perfect antidote for the winter doldrums. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pulver (Homer and the House Next Door, 1994, etc.) delivers a rambunctious wintry tall tale about how a valiant bus driver, Axle Annie, defeats a dastardly scheme concocted by fellow driver Shifty Rhodes. Read full book review >