Search Results: "Antonio Castro L."


BOOK REVIEW

MY PET RATTLESNAKE by Joe Hayes
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 24, 2014

"A shaggy snake story certain to elicit hoots and hollers aplenty from young audiences. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The creators of The Gum Chewing Rattler (2006) concoct another outlandish episode with a twist in its tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY TATA'S REMEDIES / LOS REMEDIOS DE MI TATA by Roni Capin Rivera-Ashford
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"So many cultural treasures are dependent on word-of-mouth transmission, and this story encourages grandparents to lovingly pass on their knowledge to eager grandchildren and family members. (Bilingual picture book. 4-11)"
Following My Nana's Remedies/Los Remedios De Mi Nana, illustrated by Edna San Miguel (2002), Rivera-Ashford offers another semiautobiographical and child-friendly recounting of the importance of sharing intergenerational wisdom, this time accompanied by Castro L.'s expressive illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOVESICK SKUNK by Joe Hayes
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Best 'smellers'—but unfortunately this isn't one. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The duo that created The Gum-Chewing Rattler (2006) concocts a Garrison Keillor-type anecdote sized to fit a picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Though previously published (in English only) by a small press as Everyone Knows Gato Pinto (1992) and also available in audio versions, these wise and witty tales continue to repay fresh encounters. (source notes) (Folktales. 10-12)"
Eight tales of tricksters and magical transformations are given a Southwestern setting by a veteran storyteller and paired to Spanish versions on facing pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDPA'S HA-LA-LOO-YA HAMBONE by Joe Hayes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"Tongue-in-cheek fun. (Picture book. 7-10)"
A tall country tale involving dentures, beans, and an amazing hambone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOY OF THE BORDER by Arna Bontemps
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"An afterword provides cultural and historical context for this solid, old-fashioned adventure tale. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
This rediscovered gem from two giants of the Harlem Renaissance is more than just an historical curiosity. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GUM CHEWING RATTLER by Joe Hayes
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2006

An anecdote from the youth of a veteran Arizona storyteller makes its first separate appearance in print, matched to a Mexican artist's warmly humorous, photographically exact scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"An excellent introduction to the value of some of our society's least appreciated citizens. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Employing simple declarative sentences and a distinctly child's-eye view, Byrd creates a full and subtle treatment of the interactions of a mentally disabled woman and the neighbors and family members who surround her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUDOLPH SHINES AGAIN by Robert L. May
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Those who appreciated Caparo's illustrations in the original edition will also like this sequel and will probably overlook the unsuccessful story. (Picture book. 3-7)"
In this sequel to the original story about the famous reindeer with a glowing red nose, Rudolph loses his special power and then gains it back after helping find two lost bunnies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUDOLPH THE RED-NOSED REINDEER by Robert L. May
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Rudolph and his contribution to the Santa saga seem firmly entrenched in American Christmas tradition, and this fresh look at the reindeer that triumphs over rejection and a seeming disability may be a new holiday classic. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The original 1939 story about a reindeer with a noteworthy nose serves as the text of this lavishly illustrated, oversize interpretation of Rudolph's place in Christmas lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLAND OF BONES by Joy Castro
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Potent, emotional essays that speak to the relatable experience of rising above a harrowing childhood."
Castro (English and Ethnic Studies/Univ. of Nebraska; Hell or High Water, 2012, etc.) ponders her troubled adolescence and who she is today. Read full book review >