Search Results: "Antonio Castro L."


BOOK REVIEW

MY PET RATTLESNAKE by Joe Hayes
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 24, 2014

"A shaggy snake story certain to elicit hoots and hollers aplenty from young audiences. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The creators of The Gum Chewing Rattler (2006) concoct another outlandish episode with a twist in its tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY TATA'S REMEDIES / LOS REMEDIOS DE MI TATA by Roni Capin Rivera-Ashford
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"So many cultural treasures are dependent on word-of-mouth transmission, and this story encourages grandparents to lovingly pass on their knowledge to eager grandchildren and family members. (Bilingual picture book. 4-11)"
Following My Nana's Remedies/Los Remedios De Mi Nana, illustrated by Edna San Miguel (2002), Rivera-Ashford offers another semiautobiographical and child-friendly recounting of the importance of sharing intergenerational wisdom, this time accompanied by Castro L.'s expressive illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOVESICK SKUNK by Joe Hayes
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Best 'smellers'—but unfortunately this isn't one. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The duo that created The Gum-Chewing Rattler (2006) concocts a Garrison Keillor-type anecdote sized to fit a picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDPA'S HA-LA-LOO-YA HAMBONE by Joe Hayes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"Tongue-in-cheek fun. (Picture book. 7-10)"
A tall country tale involving dentures, beans, and an amazing hambone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Though previously published (in English only) by a small press as Everyone Knows Gato Pinto (1992) and also available in audio versions, these wise and witty tales continue to repay fresh encounters. (source notes) (Folktales. 10-12)"
Eight tales of tricksters and magical transformations are given a Southwestern setting by a veteran storyteller and paired to Spanish versions on facing pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOY OF THE BORDER by Arna Bontemps
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"An afterword provides cultural and historical context for this solid, old-fashioned adventure tale. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
This rediscovered gem from two giants of the Harlem Renaissance is more than just an historical curiosity. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ANTONIO ITURBE
by James McDonald

There was a question that Antonio Iturbe just couldn’t get out of his head. Tucked away in Alberto Manguel’s The Library at Night, amid detailed accounts of the world’s most famous libraries, such as that at Alexandria and Washington, D.C.’s Library of Congress, he’d come across mention of a secret library that was maintained in the most unexpected ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GUM CHEWING RATTLER by Joe Hayes
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2006

An anecdote from the youth of a veteran Arizona storyteller makes its first separate appearance in print, matched to a Mexican artist's warmly humorous, photographically exact scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"An excellent introduction to the value of some of our society's least appreciated citizens. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Employing simple declarative sentences and a distinctly child's-eye view, Byrd creates a full and subtle treatment of the interactions of a mentally disabled woman and the neighbors and family members who surround her. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHAT I'M WATCHING FOR THIS OCTOBER
by Leila Roy

New month, new books! This month, there are so very many that I want to read that I’m going to list my five MOST EAGERLY ANTICIPATED titles at the top, and then quick notes on Everything Else. (And there is a Quite A Lot of Everything Else.)

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, by Erika L. Sánchez

I’ve been ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

RUDOLPH SHINES AGAIN by Robert L. May
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Those who appreciated Caparo's illustrations in the original edition will also like this sequel and will probably overlook the unsuccessful story. (Picture book. 3-7)"
In this sequel to the original story about the famous reindeer with a glowing red nose, Rudolph loses his special power and then gains it back after helping find two lost bunnies. Read full book review >