Search Results: "Ariane Dewey"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST LAUGH by Jose Aruego
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

A sly snake with a fondness for sneaking up on unsuspecting animals and making them jump earns both humiliation and a taste of its own medicine in this nearly wordless outing—dedicated "to bullies everywhere." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANTARCTIC ANTICS by Judy Sierra
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1998

"The animated, icy doings are faithfully chronicled by Aruego and Dewey, but lest readers think this is all tongue-in-cheek, the author includes short list of further information. (Picture book/poetry. 4-8)"
A blithe collection of poems about emperor penguins based on factual information about the species. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 30, 1993

"A concluding song (melody by Bill Haymes) needs an accompaniment to support its syncopated rhythms and implied harmonic changes, but the lower staff has been left blank—so why print it at all? (Poetry/Picture book. 5-8)"
Animals celebrate seasonal delights—from an ice-skating January cat to November pigs feasting on pie and December's union of all the characters to carry a Christmas tree. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

APRIL SHOWERS by George Shannon
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1995

Cheerful illustrations accompany a lackluster text that seems more suited to a storyteller's live performance than the page. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRTHDAY RHYMES, SPECIAL TIMES by Bobbye S. Goldstein
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1993

"Index. (Poetry/Picture book. 3-7)"
The title sets the tone—32 lighthearted poems celebrate parties, presents, and being the special person of the day; also included are a few non-children who might have birthdays—a mother, a grandfather clock, the moon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

"A winner. (Picture book/folktale. 4-8)"
Noted storyteller Bruchac (Squanto's Journey: The Story of the First Thanksgiving, p. 1498, etc.) teams up with his son, James (Native American Games and Stories, not reviewed) to present a pourquoi tale from the East Coast Native American tradition. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Love Them Back to LIFE by Ariane Page
Released: Oct. 9, 2014

"A vibrant, eclectic sojourn into the meaning of it all, hindered by laborious writing and poor organization."
A sprawling theoretical explanation of the human condition. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

H.M.S. COCKEREL by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 25, 1995

"Great fun for the amateur military historianwith the whole of the Napoleonic Wars still to come."
Reluctant British naval officer Alan Lewrie (The Gun Ketch, 1993, etc.) assists in the defense of Toulon at the beginning of England's war with revolutionary France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOSTILE SHORES by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2013

"More of the same: great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forrester."
The further nautical adventures of Lambdin's (Reefs and Shoals, 2012, etc.) Capt. Sir Alan Lewrie, baronet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REASONABLE DOUBTS by Donald Dewey
Released: Oct. 21, 1991

"Not deep enough for the psychological crowd, but may find its niche among the nitty-gritty police-procedural readers."
A slice-of-five-lives—all of which converge in a Queens courthouse—features: inept, small-time crook Manuel Torres, who's planning an escape; the lawyer assigned to Torres—Elena Alvarez, who's still quaking with guilt over the prison-death of former client Ed Winters; cancer-stricken retired teacher Charles Allison, who's about to be empaneled on the Torres jury; courthouse guard John King, who's close to a homicidal breakdown; and elevator- operator Hobie Morgan, who's the imminent hero here. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INVASION YEAR by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"A pleasant blend of light humor, drama and cracking historical naval action—another solid entry in the series."
Lambdin's rough-but-lovable rascal Captain Alan Lewrie (King, Ship, and Sword, 2010, etc.) returns for a 17th installment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ICE IN THE JUNGLE by Ariane Hofmann-Maniyar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Comforting to the littlest of ones who find themselves in a change of surroundings. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A tiny polar bear must learn how to cope after moving. Read full book review >