Search Results: "Armstead Kennedy Fisher"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 20, 2012

"Exudes vast emotion, but too unrefined and unpolished."
This small collection of eclectic, spiritual poems bears witness to both the beautiful and heartbreaking moments surrounding existence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 21, 2012

"A slim book that unconvincingly purports to be wisdom."
A short book of modern proverbs and spiritual advice written in the form of verse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KENNEDY CHRONICLES by Kennedy
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 30, 2013

"Mildly entertaining but superficial and unremarkable."
One of the original video jockeys waxes nostalgic on her time with the MTV network. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SPINNING WHEEL GOT TO GO ROUND
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for What Goes Up by Katie Kennedy

Cover Story: Upside Down
BFF Charm: Single White Female
Swoonworthy Scale: 3
Talky Talk: Science Fiction
Bonus Factors: Alternate Dimensions, Coach Taylor Award
Relationship Status: One and Done

Cover Story: Upside Down

Excuse me, Mr. Astronaut, but you might want to mosey North a little. I know how gravity works, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A TWISTED TALE by Carolyn Fisher
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2001

"Readers who find Causley's 'Quack,' Said the Billy Goat (1986), or Most's Cow That Went Oink (1990) a trifle sedate won't have that problem with this unrestrained solo debut. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Fisher punches up a well-worn plot with vivid language and swirling modernist art that incorporates an equally wild hand-lettered text. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEEN THERE, DONE THAT by Eddie Fisher
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 14, 1999

"Now that's talent."
The teen idol, singer, former husband of Elizabeth Taylor, Debbie Reynolds, and Connie Stevens, father of actresses Carrie and Joely Fisher, pens a tell-all memoir with the help of celebrity profiler David Fisher (no relation and co-author with George Burns of All My Best Friends, 1989, among others). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN DO IT MYSELF by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2014

"Ultimately, haphazard structure undermines a visually engaging presentation. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A series of colorful, photographed spreads provides visual instruction and documentation of various tasks and skills for child readers to master. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2006

"This, in combination with the lack of a plot, will limit the audience, especially when said audience usually lets out a collective groan at the mention of word problems. (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-9)"
A collection of unrelated illustrated word problems, this has potential among teachers and the parents of star or struggling math students. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING I NEED TO KNOW BEFORE I'M FIVE by Valorie Fisher
ABC BOOKS
Released: July 26, 2011

"Cheerful, if not exactly essential, fun. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Fisher packs a lot—if not exactly everything, or perhaps not even some of the most important things—into this compendium of basic concepts for young children: letters, numbers up to 20, colors, shapes, opposites, seasons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC BOOKS
Released: June 1, 2003

"Impressive and innovative. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Astonishingly arranged assemblages of toys and miniatures described by alliterative nonsense phrases are depicted in brightly colored photographs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BIG SISTER by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"The carefully worded comments, bolstered by Fisher's exceptional photography, convey a powerful message about the deeply rooted bonds that exist between an older sister and her younger sibling. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Fisher explores the feminine side of sibling relations in this companion title to My Big Brother (2002). Read full book review >