Search Results: "Arthur C. Danto"


BOOK REVIEW

ARTHUR C. CLARKE by Neil McAleer
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 1992

"Useful to specialists and students of sf, but likely to disappoint the more general reader. (Thirty b&w photographs—not seen.)"
Science journalist McAleer (The Mind-Boggling Universe, 1987; The Body Almanac, 1985) turns his attention to one of the giants of his own field. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Among the most sensible, intelligent, logical, and accessible art criticism of the last five years."
A collection of pieces written since "the end of art"—not to be confused with the death of art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT ART IS by Arthur C. Danto
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: March 19, 2013

"Less a primer than a series of postgraduate lectures."
A distinguished art critic, academic and philosopher distills his views into a compact volume that is likely to provoke more debate than it resolves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COLLECTED STORIES OF ARTHUR C. CLARKE by Arthur C. Clarke
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"Wonder."
A massive compendium brings together (most probably) every story—104 in total, at least 3 previously uncollected—ever written by grandmaster Clarke (3001: The Final Odyssey, 1997, etc). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"An intellectual update from a profound thinker whose voice enhances the art and culture he contemplates. (Thirteen illustrations—not seen.)"
Sixteen philosophical essays (most previously published in academic journals) that, in the vein of Encounters and Reflections (1990), wrestle with questions of art by the critic who contends that Andy Warhol brought Western art history to an end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1986

"This note of optimism and a long, Clarke-at-his-best description of life in a 2019 space station (based on present experience) lift the book out of the veil of joyless hardware."
The date is the 50th anniversary of the moonwalk, 17 years ago (ergo, 33 years hence). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2000

"A stimulating, provocative collection."
This hefty compilation of Danto's columns on art, originally published from 1993 to 1999 in The Nation offers further proof of his distinctive ability to balance precise discussions of individual works of art with vigorous explorations of the cultural and historical milieu in which they have been created. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Incisive and passionate, Danto's testimony makes an important intervention in debates over Mapplethorpe's importance. (31 duotones)"
One of our leading postmodern critics captures, in decorous prose, photographer Robert Mapplethorpe's putatively outrageous social and aesthetic vision. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 1994

"He holds up art triumphantly as a ticklish enigma, a moral conundrum in our midst."
In this prodigious display of intellectual bravado, Danto proves that art can be metaphysics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

C by Tom McCarthy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Flawed but fascinating."
An ambitious, epochal second novel from the author of Remainder (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARTHUR TURNS GREEN by Marc Brown
by Marc Brown, illustrated by Marc Brown, developed by ScrollMotion
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2011

"Overall, Arthur would probably agree this app is a fine way to save paper and still enjoy a good read. (iPad storybook app. 4-8)"
This adaptation of Brown's newest Arthur story offers pretty much the traditional experience of reading a book; the interactive features that are the hallmark of this new generation of the "book" experience are somewhat limited. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORMAT C: by Edwin Black
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 15, 1999

"Others, perhaps, will not, although Black throughout shows great smarts and at times displays virtuoso rhetoric. (First printing of 50,000; $150,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
Massively conceived, neatly chiseled computer novel that begins on the wrong foot with lists of consumer goods enjoyed by a sybaritic hero only a Honda Del Sol salesman could love. Read full book review >