Search Results: "Artie Bennett"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 24, 2012

"Despite the interest, the treatment is too limited to be useful. (Informational picture book. 3-8)"
We all poop—humans and animals—so readers are urged to be strong and come along for this silly scoop on a subject most nasty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BUTT BOOK by Artie Bennett
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2010

"Lester's energetic watercolor-and-scratchboard illustrations can't lift this book above the rest. (Picture book. 3-5)"
This paean to the posterior opens with the claim that, "[e]yes and ears are much respected, / but the butt has been neglected." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BELCHES, BURPS, AND FARTS—OH MY! by Artie Bennett
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 19, 2014

"A light, comic look at two bodily functions with high child appeal—but not noteworthy nonfiction. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
The logical successor to Bennett's previous "classics," The Butt Book and Poopendous! (2010, 2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 12, 2002

"Intelligent, thoughtful, and deliciously gossipy: a must for anyone interested in book publishing."
Charming WWII-era letters exchanged by the founders of Random House. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN ARTIE WAS LITTLE by Harriet Berg Schwartz
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 30, 1996

"The old photographs of, presumably, the real Artie, reproduced in the endpapers, provide the stories with a factual frame that adds yet another dimension to this wise and lyrical book. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Scenes from a childhood in 1920s Hoboken, wistfully recalled by an elderly man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARTIE AND JULIE by Chih-Yuan Chen
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"A worthy addition to any 'waging peace' list. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Chen follows up a celebration of unlikely siblings in Guji Guji (2004) with an equally captivating look at an unusual friendship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Bennett Prince of Ziemia by David Kucera
Released: July 14, 2016

"A tale about a perilous rescue operation that delivers a sweet, all-ages romp, leaving room for further escapades."
In this debut middle-grade fantasy, a teen prince and his beautiful young companion sneak off on an adventure to save a nearby village. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 9, 2012

"Will Bennett's loyal nanny-and-more, Mary Catherine, abandon her charges in their darkest hour? Will Perrine escape from custody in a made-for-the-movies sequence? Will Bennett finally close his case for good? Or will Patterson and Ledwidge ring down the curtain leaving the conflict unresolved and paving the way for a sequel? Stay tuned."
Patterson's partnership with Ledwidge is already up to the fifth installment in the perilous adventures of NYPD Detective Michael Bennett (Tick Tock, 2011, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Bennett Women by Roberta R. Carr
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 8, 2015

"Despite its sometimes too-neat storyline, readers may find merit in this novel's exploration of the challenges of aging loved ones."
In this novel set in 2012, a harrowing health scare for a family matriarch spurs emotional crises for her Fortune 500 company CEO daughter and musically talented granddaughter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRASH AND BURN by Artie Lange
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 29, 2013

"For Howard Stern devotees, the stoners who harassed members of the school band in the high school cafeteria, and all their buddies doubled over with laughter beside them."
A tedious tale of substance abuse told by a self-admitted opiate-addicted, self-loathing slob. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED HOT BLUES by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 16, 1998

"A louring debut for fans of Martin Cruz Smith and Philip Kerr—though Nadelson spins a much shaggier tale than either of his models, with new complications coming down the street every ten minutes."
``I was never going back to Moscow,'' vows allegedly cheerful New York cop Artie Cohen. Read full book review >