Search Results: "Aubernon Waugh"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Perhaps not quite."
A minor, triflingly amusing memoir by the British journalist best known for being Evelyn Waugh's son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"A no-holds-barred yet ultimately moving portrait of a major literary talent. (Photographs—not seen.)"
The second and final installment of Stannard's monumental, definitive biography (Evelyn Waugh, 1987) of one of the 20th century's most accomplished—and, apparently, misanthropic— writers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVELYN WAUGH by Philip Eade
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"Eade offers up a softer portrait of Waugh that might help bring him some new readers, which he deserves."
A softer, kinder, gentler Evelyn Waugh (1903-1966). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 6, 1999

"Not the definitive biography of Waugh nor the most in-depth interpretation of his writings, but an immensely readable and highly entertaining introduction to a man who, at his best and his worst, lived a life as interesting as his fiction."
This biography of Evelyn Waugh stitches together episodes of his life with anecdotes from his fiction, creating a tapestry as rich and varied as Waugh's finest works. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVELYN WAUGH by Selina Hastings
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 19, 1995

"In the end, however, perhaps the strongest impression left by this biography is of a writer who like no other great (or nearly great) artist was possessed of so little basic human sympathy. (63 b&w photos, not seen)"
An elegant, well-wrought, and objective biography of a complex but relentlessly unlikable figure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DIARIES OF EVELYN WAUGH by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Oct. 25, 1977

All different kinds of people are going to be disappointed by these heavily heralded diaries—kept by England's most acerbic schoolboy, playboy, traveler, soldier, and novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LETTERS OF EVELYN WAUGH by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Oct. 15, 1980

"An indirectly revealing collection, then, with a few intriguing oddities (restrained encouragement for fledgling novelist Alex Comfort) and reference points for the novels (the comic rhythms of the prose here, as well as EW's occasional work-in-progress comments)-but, all in all, another regretfully shallow display from a writer whose best work is anything but."
Apparently bearing in mind the dull, distasteful impression made by Waugh's Diaries (1977), editor Amory's rather defensive introduction stresses that "this version" of Waugh "shows him to his best advantage so far." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LETTERS OF NANCY MITFORD AND EVELYN WAUGH by Nancy Mitford
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 26, 1997

"Quite the battle of wits."
Twenty years (1946-66) of reciprocal, unconditional support between the twin sensibilities and manifestly unlike personalities of Nancy Mitford and Evelyn Waugh, expressed in a private shorthand of shared history and coined language. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1984

"But connoisseurs of the graver Waugh styles will find stretches of elegant prose in every decade; and Gallagher's extensive introductory material (plus a ten-page list of the articles not included here) helps to make this a substantial addition to the Waughreference shelf."
More for Waugh scholars than for admirers of his fiction, this massive volume brings together nearly 50 years of book-reviews, newspaper columns, letters-to-the-editor, and essays. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LETTERS OF EVELYN WAUGH AND DIANA COOPER by Artemis Cooper
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 1992

"Many charming moments, far apart. (Sixteen pages of b&w photographs—not seen.)"
Lifetime of letters largely from Waugh to Lady Diana, a famous beauty ten years his senior, whom he loved but never bedded. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >