Search Results: "Aubernon Waugh"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Perhaps not quite."
A minor, triflingly amusing memoir by the British journalist best known for being Evelyn Waugh's son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FATHERS AND SONS by Alexander Waugh
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 2007

"A candid, intimate and touching portrait of the author's masculine forebears, composed in nimble prose."
A sprightly memoir about the succession of cranky, writerly Waugh men, concluding with the author (born 1963). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOVED ONE by Evelyn Waugh
Released: June 23, 1948

"Certainly not a even for Waugh addicts."
Entertaining as Evelyn Waugh's practiced wit may be, the mockery here seems a little macabre for all tastes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELENA by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Oct. 16, 1950

"An intellectual invention which is not without its spiritual significance, this still does not subdue the occasional bright badinage, the wit which is a worldly one, although it will be the name that will carry this to its audience."
A retelling of the story of St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DIARIES OF EVELYN WAUGH by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Oct. 25, 1977

All different kinds of people are going to be disappointed by these heavily heralded diaries—kept by England's most acerbic schoolboy, playboy, traveler, soldier, and novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWORD OF HONOUR by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Nov. 2, 1966

"Some critics, Malcolm Muggeridge for instance, considered this ironic, absurd, affecting (and autobiographical) portrait of a middle aged man at war his finest achievement."
Both a "recension" (Waugh before his death excised some of the original material) as well as a one-volume publication of the World War II trilogy— Men at Arms (1952) Officers and Gentleman (1955) and Unconditional Surrender (1961) which Waugh thought of as "obituary of the Roman Catholic Church in England." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN THE GOING WAS GOOD by Evelyn Waugh
Released: June 1, 1946

"This edition will make this material available to the larger market opened up by Brideshead Revisited."
This reprints, in one volume, selected, connected passages from four of Waugh's travel books which were published between 1929 and 1935. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCOTT KING'S MODERN EUROPE by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Feb. 15, 1949

"If, in contrast to The Loved One, the satiric content here is of a more cerebral rather than sensational nature, the Waugh name will carry this to a wider market than he reached earlier in his career."
Returning more nearly to the mood of his earlier works, this short novel, of a traditional English schoolmaster's exposure to the materialism and totalitarianism of a middle-European country, is a skillful satiric exercise and one which- in its intellectual subtlety- is well above The Loved One. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE END OF THE BATTLE by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Jan. 10, 1962

"A palpable hit."
Presumably the last of the Evelyn Waugh novels dealing with the adventures of Englishman Guy Crouchback immediately prior, during and just after the Second World War, The End Of The Battle gleams with all the old audacity, macabre romanticism and cadaverous jollity which have made Waugh probably the supreme satirist of our day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEXICO by Evelyn Waugh
Released: Sept. 13, 1939

"A thoughtful study of material at hand."
An Englishman and a Conservative spends two months in Mexico and presents a study of conditions in that country. Read full book review >