Search Results: "Barb Hendee"


BOOK REVIEW

OF TRUTH AND BEASTS by Barb Hendee
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 4, 2011

"Tolkien-with-the-serial-numbers-filed-off plus vampires fails to add up to anything much."
Clunky prose encrusts a tedious quest through an already overpopulated genre landscape in the third volume of the second Noble Dead Saga (Through Stone and Sea, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 13, 2012

"A helpful, systematic approach to developing a discriminating palate."
A thorough investigation of the sensation of taste. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THOMAS JEFFERSON BUILDS A LIBRARY by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Sure to be enjoyed, this is an engaging study of one of our Founding Father's great legacies. (selected bibliography, source notes) (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
This unusual picture-book biography fosters a new understanding of Thomas Jefferson's life as viewed through his love of books and its impact on our burgeoning nation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"A rich, accomplished piece about a pioneer in the art world. (author's note, painting reproductions, sources) (Picture book/biography. 5-10)"
This impressive biography of Vasily Kandinsky highlights the unusual connection between his art and the music that inspired it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 19, 2012

"Wonderfully simple, sweet and engaging. (author's note, source notes) (Picture book. 7-10)"
Theodore Roosevelt's 1903 trip to the western parks included a backcountry camping trip—complete with snowstorm—with John Muir in the Yosemite Wilderness and informed the president's subsequent advocacy for national parks and monuments. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN FRANKLIN'S BIG SPLASH by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"As inventive as Ben himself, this presentation is awash with delight and definitely makes a big splash. (author's note, timeline, sources, source notes) (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
Is another picture book about Ben Franklin really needed? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FAIRIES OF NUTFOLK WOOD by Barb Bentler Ullman
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2006

"A more rigorous edit might have turned the occasional glimmers into a steady glow. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Willa, nine, narrates events of a post-divorce summer in this poorly edited first novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CODON ZERO by Jim Hendee
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 30, 2011

"A book tailor-made for fans of high-tech, high-stakes intrigue."
A millennial thriller about biological terrorism and the quest for peace in the Middle East. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STREAK by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"DiMaggio's remarkable hitting streak is freshly presented for a new generation of fans. (afterword, author's note, statistics, source notes, bibliography) (Informational picture book. 6-10)"
Joe DiMaggio's 56-game hitting streak is considered one of the greatest feats in baseball and the one least likely to be replicated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOROTHEA'S EYES by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"An excellent beginner's resource for biography, U.S. history, and women's studies. (author's note, bibliography, resources, timeline) (Picture book/biography. 8-12)"
This brief, illustrated biography explores how the life of pioneering photojournalist Dorothea Lange influenced her art. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BOOKS TO FALL FOR
by Julie Danielson

I know we haven’t seen Summer picture book releases yet, so forgive me, but I’m looking at my stack of Fall picture book F&Gs and wanting to write a sneak-peek about some books I’m excited to see. F&Gs, for those who may think I’m suddenly and inexplicably cursing (“F&Gs” has always sounded like that to me), are early, pre-bound versions ...


Read the full post >