Search Results: "Barb Rosenstock"


BOOK REVIEW

THOMAS JEFFERSON BUILDS A LIBRARY by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Sure to be enjoyed, this is an engaging study of one of our Founding Father's great legacies. (selected bibliography, source notes) (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
This unusual picture-book biography fosters a new understanding of Thomas Jefferson's life as viewed through his love of books and its impact on our burgeoning nation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"A rich, accomplished piece about a pioneer in the art world. (author's note, painting reproductions, sources) (Picture book/biography. 5-10)"
This impressive biography of Vasily Kandinsky highlights the unusual connection between his art and the music that inspired it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 19, 2012

"Wonderfully simple, sweet and engaging. (author's note, source notes) (Picture book. 7-10)"
Theodore Roosevelt's 1903 trip to the western parks included a backcountry camping trip—complete with snowstorm—with John Muir in the Yosemite Wilderness and informed the president's subsequent advocacy for national parks and monuments. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STREAK by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"DiMaggio's remarkable hitting streak is freshly presented for a new generation of fans. (afterword, author's note, statistics, source notes, bibliography) (Informational picture book. 6-10)"
Joe DiMaggio's 56-game hitting streak is considered one of the greatest feats in baseball and the one least likely to be replicated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOROTHEA'S EYES by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"An excellent beginner's resource for biography, U.S. history, and women's studies. (author's note, bibliography, resources, timeline) (Picture book/biography. 8-12)"
This brief, illustrated biography explores how the life of pioneering photojournalist Dorothea Lange influenced her art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN FRANKLIN'S BIG SPLASH by Barb Rosenstock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"As inventive as Ben himself, this presentation is awash with delight and definitely makes a big splash. (author's note, timeline, sources, source notes) (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
Is another picture book about Ben Franklin really needed? Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BOOKS TO FALL FOR
by Julie Danielson

I know we haven’t seen Summer picture book releases yet, so forgive me, but I’m looking at my stack of Fall picture book F&Gs and wanting to write a sneak-peek about some books I’m excited to see. F&Gs, for those who may think I’m suddenly and inexplicably cursing (“F&Gs” has always sounded like that to me), are early, pre-bound versions ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 13, 2012

"A helpful, systematic approach to developing a discriminating palate."
A thorough investigation of the sensation of taste. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEFENSE OF THADDEUS A. LEDBETTER by John Gosselink
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"It won't take long for readers to realize that Thaddeus is as weird and annoying as the students and faculty think he is, but there is something endearing about him, too, as readers will glean from the lively assemblage of documents. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Thaddeus A. Ledbetter has landed himself in In-School Suspension for the rest of the school year for performing his own safety drill at Crooked Creek Middle School. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OF TRUTH AND BEASTS by Barb Hendee
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 4, 2011

"Tolkien-with-the-serial-numbers-filed-off plus vampires fails to add up to anything much."
Clunky prose encrusts a tedious quest through an already overpopulated genre landscape in the third volume of the second Noble Dead Saga (Through Stone and Sea, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FAIRIES OF NUTFOLK WOOD by Barb Bentler Ullman
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2006

"A more rigorous edit might have turned the occasional glimmers into a steady glow. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Willa, nine, narrates events of a post-divorce summer in this poorly edited first novel. Read full book review >