Search Results: "Barbara Odanaka"


BOOK REVIEW

BARBARA BUSH by Rose Blue
BIOGRAPHY
Released: June 1, 1991

"Illustrations not seen; chronology; further reading; index. (Biography. 11+)"
An entry in the ``Contemporary Women'' series pays admiring tribute to its subject: Blue and Naden cast every aspect of the First Lady's life in a glow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKATEBOARD MOM by Barbara Odanaka
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2004

"Adinolfi's art, on the other hand, is steadily fun—offbeat in the right ways—with the characters looking like they've been ironed onto the page, somehow frozen in motion. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Odanaka's tale has a good measure of whimsy—a mom hijacks her son's skateboard, which he has just received as a birthday present, and sets about strutting her stuff, revealing a hidden skateboarding past—but the poetry can be disappointing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CRAZY DAY AT THE CRITTER CAFÉ by Barbara Odanaka
ANIMALS
Released: June 9, 2009

"There are not too many cooks in this kitchen, as high-interest humor creates a rollicking read-aloud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Havoc erupts in high-spirited fashion when the animals' bus breaks down outside the local restaurant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMASH! MASH! CRASH! THERE GOES THE TRASH! by Barbara Odanaka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Young audiences will be happy to crash and bash right along with these familiar mechanical Wild Things. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Fans of Kate and Jim McMullan's I Stink! (2002) will welcome this look-alike, sound-alike return visit, as a pair of bright green trucks with backward-looking red eyes and huge mouths (even, in one startling scene, an oversized tongue) consume with relish a smorgasbord of broken furniture and garbage: "Rotten eggs? / Apple cores? / Pack 'em in—the engine ROARS. / Stinky diapers? / Coffee grounds? / Load it UP and smash it DOWN." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICKLE BARBARA by Satomi Ichikawa
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 14, 1993

"The last (copyright) page discloses that the text here is by Patricia Lee Gauch; even if the idea is Ichikawa's, it would be more honest to credit Gauch, at least as coauthor, on the title page. (Picture book. 4-8)"
``Ballerina Bear Barbara'' is one of many bears living in the room of a Parisian child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BARBARA BUSH by Pamela Kilian
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 12, 1992

"An informative biography, then, but not definitive. (Sixteen-page photo insert— not seen.)"
Not an authorized biography, but longtime journalist Kilian (What Was Watergate?, YA, 1990) has assembled enough quotes from friends, family, and Mrs. Bush herself to create a lively and credible portrait of this immensely popular First Lady. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AUDREY AND BARBARA by Janet Lawson
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2002

"Of course. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Audrey wants to go to India. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUITE FOR BARBARA LODEN by Nathalie Léger
Released: Oct. 17, 2016

"Loden fans will enjoy Léger's riffs; others may find the obsession mystifying."
French writer Léger muses on the life and work of American filmmaker Barbara Loden (1932-1980). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BARBARA THE SLUT by Lauren Holmes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"A first-rate first collection from a young writer you'll want to hear more from."
This sharp, sensitive debut story collection introduces us to a parade of people (and one dog) grasping their ways through complex relationships with family, friends, lovers, strangers, and, of course, themselves. Read full book review >