Search Results: "Barbara Odanaka"


BOOK REVIEW

SKATEBOARD MOM by Barbara Odanaka
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2004

"Adinolfi's art, on the other hand, is steadily fun—offbeat in the right ways—with the characters looking like they've been ironed onto the page, somehow frozen in motion. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Odanaka's tale has a good measure of whimsy—a mom hijacks her son's skateboard, which he has just received as a birthday present, and sets about strutting her stuff, revealing a hidden skateboarding past—but the poetry can be disappointing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CRAZY DAY AT THE CRITTER CAFÉ by Barbara Odanaka
ANIMALS
Released: June 9, 2009

"There are not too many cooks in this kitchen, as high-interest humor creates a rollicking read-aloud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Havoc erupts in high-spirited fashion when the animals' bus breaks down outside the local restaurant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMASH! MASH! CRASH! THERE GOES THE TRASH! by Barbara Odanaka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Young audiences will be happy to crash and bash right along with these familiar mechanical Wild Things. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Fans of Kate and Jim McMullan's I Stink! (2002) will welcome this look-alike, sound-alike return visit, as a pair of bright green trucks with backward-looking red eyes and huge mouths (even, in one startling scene, an oversized tongue) consume with relish a smorgasbord of broken furniture and garbage: "Rotten eggs? / Apple cores? / Pack 'em in—the engine ROARS. / Stinky diapers? / Coffee grounds? / Load it UP and smash it DOWN." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE MISS MUFFET by Barbara Nascimbeni
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"There are a few clever ideas in this series, but many of the added verses and the repetitive art feel forced to fit the die-cut-hole gimmick. (Board book. 2-4)"
The famed Mother Goose arachnophobe finds her picnic pilfered by various animals in this expanded adaptation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAINSTORM by Barbara Lehman
ADVENTURE
Released: April 9, 2007

"Another surrealist triumph from a vigorous emerging talent. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Boredom leads to excitement when a little boy, trapped by rain, finds wonder and escape in an unlikely place. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECT SNOW by Barbara Reid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"Cooperation, teamwork and creative problem solving taken to new levels make this a great choice, no matter what the season. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Most snow-themed books celebrate a day off from school, but Reid's latest just may have kids hoping for their own snow-filled recess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Bash (Ancient Ones, 1994, etc.) has created a harmonious story, written out in calligraphy and warmly, colorfully illustrated with authentic scenes that firmly root this tree's importance in the facts. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
A fascinating look at the social, spiritual, and ecological significance of the banyan tree in the life of an Indian village. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELEANOR by Barbara Cooney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"An author's note supplies other relevant information. (Picture book/biography. 5-9)"
"From the beginning the baby was a disappointment to her mother," Cooney (The Story of Christmas, 1995, etc.) begins in this biography of Eleanor Roosevelt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FABLES FROM AESOP by Barbara McClintock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

"A delight. (Folklore/Picture book. 4-10)"
Nine of the more familiar fables in gracefully phrased, slightly expanded versions that incorporate the morals in their amusing dialogue. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RENATO AND THE LION by Barbara DiLorenzo
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 20, 2017

"DiLorenzo's careful research yields a touching tale about art's ability to deeply affect both adults and children. (author's note) (Picture book. 4-8)"
A white Italian boy emigrates from Florence to New York during World War II, leaving a beloved stone lion behind in the Piazza della Signoria. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MUSEUM TRIP by Barbara Lehman
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 2006

"It's a playfully subtle celebration of the possibilities offered by seemingly dry and dusty museums and, like museums, entirely worthy of several lengthy visits. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Following on the Caldecott Honor-winning The Red Book (2004) is another mindbending foray into a wordless metafictive narrative. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADÈLE AND SIMON by Barbara McClintock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 7, 2006

"Très magnifique! (Picture book. 5-8)"
Set against scenes of early 20th-century Paris, this engaging, reverse cumulative story follows a girl and her young brother when she picks him up from school. Read full book review >