Search Results: "Bean Creative"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN I GROW UP by Al Yankovic
by Al Yankovic, illustrated by Wes Hargis, developed by Bean Creative
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 14, 2011

"Fans will love that Mr. Yankovic himself provides the optional narration and all sound effects (including all gorilla grunts and snail cheers), injecting just a bit of the 'Weird' that is missing from the print version back into the mix. (iPad storybook app. 4-8)"
Voiced in rhymed couplets with a conscious tip of the hat to Seuss and Silverstein, this adaptation of the recently published book adds even more elements to an already overstuffed story—with unexpectedly good results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AT NIGHT by Jonathan Bean
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Aug. 7, 2007

"Quietly lovely. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Small in both size and concept, this sweet, gentle story is perfectly constructed and balanced. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWEET FARTS by Raymond Bean
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 3, 2010

"For good gassy humor turn to the Grosse Adventures manga series or the late-'90s series Barf-o-Rama, by Pat Pollari. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Last year at Harborside Elementary, Keith Emerson did something amazing at the science fair: He invented Sweet Farts, candy that makes toots smell sweet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG SNOW by Jonathan Bean
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Winter's chills, rituals and resulting familial closeness, rendered in simple, surprisingly poignant drawings, make this a perennial read at first frost. (Picture book. 2-6)"
David tries to help his mother with Christmas housecleaning, but his mind swirls with thoughts of the big snow predicted to fall that afternoon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS IS MY HOME, THIS IS MY SCHOOL by Jonathan Bean
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"Home sweet school. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The family from BuildingOurHouse (2013) returns, but this time their son tells readers all about life as a home-schooled kid.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO COMFORT IN VICTORY by Gregory Bean
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 18, 1995

"But his competent debut will be appreciated most by fans of the heavily macho shoot-'em-up genre."
First of a series featuring Harry Starbranch, recently a homicide detective in Denver, now police chief in tiny Victory, Wyoming, and acting sheriff in Laramiea job he hopes to win full term in an upcoming election. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOKIE & BIK by Wendy Orr
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2007

"Ending with the triumphal return of their long-awaited Dad, bearing a 'soggy waggly scrabbly shaggy licky round black waggles' to keep Laddie company, this set of splishy-splashy episodes will itself draw waggles from easy-reader graduates and read-aloud audiences in general. (Fiction. 8-10)"
With their father "illy-ally-o-ing" on a salty sail around the world and their mother busy "Arting" up in the wheelhouse of their floating home, the Bullfrog, twins Bik (the faster one) and Mokie (the bigger one) are left to "slip slide slipper" their way over the docks in search of adventures large and small. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DEATH IN VICTORY by Gregory Bean
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 13, 1997

"Flawed but gripping."
A third trip into the wilds of Wyoming with Harry Starbranch, the tough-as-old-boots sheriff of tiny Victory (Long Shadows in Victory, 1996, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG SHADOWS IN VICTORY by Gregory Bean
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 13, 1996

"Still, the solid plot, warm, folksy style, and endearingly fallible Harry will engage most readers to the finish."
A second chapter in the turbulent life of Harry Starbranch (No Comfort in Victory, 1995), whose dead-end job as police chief in sleepy Victory, Wyoming, was to be a near-total respite from the rigors of policing in Denver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENJI FRANKLIN: KID ZILLIONAIRE by Raymond Bean
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"It doesn't make a lick of sense, but it's great value per page. (Humorous adventure. 7-10)"
This book is the best cartoon that Hanna-Barbera never made. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMMY AND THE RATS IN THE BELFRY by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: July 5, 2011

"Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Ten-year-old Emmy Addison returns with rodent pal Raston Rat to prove she's a responsible kid who still has what it takes to outwit her former nanny, the devious Jane Barmy, in this fast-paced sequel to Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls (2008). Read full book review >