Search Results: "Beatriz Williams"


BOOK REVIEW

A CERTAIN AGE by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 28, 2016

"A certain age, acutely observed."
A tale of Manhattan society in the Jazz Age, spiced liberally with secrets and scandal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COCOA BEACH by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 4, 2017

"Even if the novel's strength ebbs in the final serpentine twists, Williams spins a good, spirited yarn."
Romance and mystery, war and Prohibition, infidelity and murder, inheritance and lies—the list of ingredients is long and potent in this cocktail of dramatic suspense rooted in early-20th-century Florida. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WICKED CITY by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"Even for a series launch, too much is left dangling."
The first volume of Williams' planned series introduces two women who occupy the same Greenwich Village apartment seven decades apart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALONG THE INFINITE SEA by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"Imagine The Sound of Music for big girls, flavored with a dash of Mad Men bitters."
A pair of fugitives—one from pre-Nazi Europe, the other from the U.S. Senate Chamber (correction: bedchamber)—meet over a rare 1936 Mercedes Roadster that transports first one, then the other out of a god-awful fix. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OVERSEAS by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2012

"Williams' terrific premise proves impossible to sustain, but with her gift for humor, snappy dialogue and swooning romance, there's plenty to enjoy and the promise of more enjoyable escapism to come in future work."
An engaging romantic debut cheerfully bends the rules to unite soul mates Kate and Julian, separated merely by an ocean, a world war and a century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET LIFE OF VIOLET GRANT by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 27, 2014

"Even readers interested in pure escapism will want to know why Vivian's family wasn't interested in discovering the complete truth about Violet's fate prior to Vivian's investigation."
The niece of a scientist missing for 50 years receives a valise that could unlock the mystery of her aunt's 1914 disappearance in Williams' newest romance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TINY LITTLE THING by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 23, 2015

"A fascinating look at wealth, love, ambition, secrets, and what family members will and won't do to protect each other."
During her husband's 1966 congressional run, Christina "Tiny" Hardcastle realizes her picture-perfect life has more than a few cracks and that maybe the time has come to be true to herself rather than to the glossy facade she has created. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HUNDRED SUMMERS by Beatriz Williams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 30, 2013

"An elegant if somewhat old-fashioned delayed-gratification seaside romance with a flavor of Daphne du Maurier."
A candidate for this year's big beach read—the period story of a derailed love affair seen through a sequence of summers spent at Seaview, R.I. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FORGOTTEN ROOM by Karen White
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"Focusing on both a family and a single location throughout time makes for a compelling and emotionally worthwhile novel."
Three generations of women find themselves on the cusp of love in a collaboration among bestselling authors White (The Sound of Glass, 2015, etc.), Williams (Tiny Little Thing, 2015, etc.), and Willig (The Lure of the Moonflower, 2015, etc.).Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SUMMER, SUPERHEROES AND SUPERSTARS
by Bobbi Dumas

Everyone seen Wonder Woman yet? Yes? Good!

(No? Don’t tell me, just go see it.)

There have been so many great reviews written about this movie that I don’t need to pile anything on. (There’ve also been some awful reviews written about the movie, rebutted by some movie reviewers in articles worth reading, for anyone interested in such things. I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOT IN JANUARY!
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I’m writing from a very warm Orlando FL where I am attending a (non-book related) conference with my husband. Believe me when I say it feels surreal to be wandering around in shorts and sandals! I boarded the plane in Madison at 25 degrees with at least 4 inches of accumulated snow on the ground—and landed to a ...


Read the full post >