Search Results: "Ben Anderson"


BOOK REVIEW

MARIAN ANDERSON by Allan Keiler
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 2000

"A commendable, carefully researched womb to tomb story of a great lady, especially praiseworthy in capturing the difficulties facing an extraordinarily talented black artist in a recalcitrant white world. (8 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
A comprehensive biography of the great coloratura whose role as a symbol of early civil rights efforts almost overshadowed her triumphs as a singer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAINLY ABOUT LINDSAY ANDERSON by Gavin Lambert
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 28, 2000

"Like a good detective, Lambert manages to uncover the salient clues to personality, creativity, and enduring friendship—in a business not known for long alliances. (55 b&w photos)"
An ambitious biography of the well-respected British film and theater director, told by his close friend Lambert (Nazimova, 1997, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHISPERIN' BILL ANDERSON by Bill Anderson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Anderson is a uniquely country personality, and that personality shines through."
A genial account of a gentleman musician's life in and around Nashville. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Fall of Beth Anderson by Meaghan B. Parent
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"Nothing new, but a satisfactory story of finding happiness in difficult circumstances."
A young girl tries to find herself after moving to a new town in Parent's debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >