Search Results: "Ben Brooks"


BOOK REVIEW

BROOKS by Doug Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 4, 2014

"Nice guys do not always finish last, but they also do not necessarily make the most compelling subjects for biography."
Wilson (The Bird: The Life and Legacy of Mark Fidrych, 2013) delivers a pedestrian treatment of an impressive baseball player and admirable man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISS BROOKS' STORY NOOK by Barbara Bottner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"While sequels can sometimes be disappointing, readers and listeners who enjoyed Miss Brooks' first appearance will likely be very happy to find out what happens next—and they just might be inspired to create some tall tales of their own. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Energetic, book-loving Miss Brooks is back, as is Missy, the grumpy, stumpy, hat-wearing reluctant reader-turned-bookworm who is her biggest fan (Miss Brooks Loves Books (and I don't), 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT’S LIFE, SAMARA BROOKS by Daniel Ehrenhaft
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A few funny, touching moments cannot save this convoluted mess. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Ridiculous theories of science and the paranormal destroy a promising story of nature vs. nurture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GROW UP by Ben Brooks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 24, 2012

"An epistolary novel filled with black humor and fleeting tenderness."
Hyper-self-aware young British writer writes novel about same. Add sex and drugs and stir. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOLITO by Ben Brooks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 21, 2015

"A shocking, funny, touching book; a young writer with potential to burn."
Booze, drugs, porn, snuff videos, chat rooms, pedophiles: what one British 15-year-old did over spring break. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >