Search Results: "Ben Caldwell"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 17, 1995

"Miller reveals, but never really explores, the complexities and inconsistencies of a man who wrote both first-rate fiction and disposable prose."
An engaging, if unchallenging, account of an author whose route into—and out of—literary celebrity makes him seem, for better and worse, a man of his time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 1, 1993

"While Klevar suggests that Helen and poverty lay behind the creative period of the 30's—that in capturing the popular voice, Caldwell alienated the critics—his respect for the mystery of Caldwell exceeds the temptation of such easy answers. (Twenty-nine illustrations)"
Klevar (Anthropology/Luther College) was following a childhood fascination with Tobacco Road when he met the aging, laconic, and secretive Caldwell (1903-87) and gained permission to write his authorized biography—a task he fulfills here with tact, dignity, sympathy, and in a self-effacing style that Caldwell would have liked. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WIZARD OF OZ by L. Frank Baum
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"Regrettably mediocre. (Graphic classic. 8-12)"
This new version of an oft-adapted work brings little to the table. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: July 27, 2012

"If you know why viols aren't a cello's granddaddy, this is just your cup of strings. If you don't, you stand to learn a thing or two—and with Bach ringing in your ears to boot."
A compendium and catalog of viols, those violinlike stringed instruments beloved of Bach and other composers of three and four centuries past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MINDING BEN by Victoria Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2011

"Despite lyrical prose, the narrative does not develop so much as unravel according to vagaries of chance. The Bruckners' casual cruelty beggars belief, but Grace's inability to fight back is even more implausible. However, Brown is a new voice with much to offer."
Trinidad teen journeys to America in 1989, only to find herself trapped in thankless domestic drudgery. Read full book review >