Search Results: "Ben Clanton"


BOOK REVIEW

IT CAME IN THE MAIL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 2016

"Surprisingly, no snails included. Still, more fun than bills and junk mail. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Sending mail to…a mailbox? Clever! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 16, 2015

"The slowly dawning message will elicit excitement about spring, wishing, and the ability to decode a narrative. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Bored with the familiar, this young daydreamer imagines how life could be different. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO WHO? by Ben Clanton
by Ben Clanton, illustrated by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A great example for both new kids and those welcoming them—at Halloween or for the rest of the year. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The new kid in town has more trouble than most fitting in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NARWHAL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Swimmingly delightful and a guaranteed smile-maker. (Graphic fiction. 6-10)"
Undersea adventures have never been so darn cute. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REX WRECKS IT! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"You can't hate a guy who's having this much fun, and you can't help but love a book that does the same. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An overenthusiastic T. Rex does what dinos do best: wreak total destruction! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOTE FOR ME! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"An ever-timely message, told in (two) primary colors. (Picture book. 4-8)"
What does it say that the nature and quality of our national political debate should be so baldly captured in a book for 4-year-olds? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TABLE SETS ITSELF by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Clanton makes chores a delight! (Picture book. 4-8)"
A young girl receives a new responsibility, but when the prized task becomes a boring duty, she and her tableware friends must find a way to keep things fresh and funny in this winning tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE ARE THE DINOSAURS by Laurie Berkner
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 21, 2017

"In a market teeming with terrible reptiles, this book earns itself a big di-NO. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Here be dinosaurs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAR OF THE WEEK by Caroline Adderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"Readers will identify with many of Jasper's comical, age-appropriate issues as he navigates the sometimes confusing complications of early primary school. (Fiction. 5-8)"
Jasper, an early-elementary student, is finally Star of the Week, but his enthusiastic expectations may exceed the reality of all that accompanies the treasured position. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOT IN LOVE by Caroline Adderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"Another chapter book that will readily brighten the day of emergent readers—or adults offering an extended read-aloud. (Fiction. 5-8)"
The trouble with girls is that they are prone to falling in love—and then they want to get married. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU'RE IN TROUBLE by Caroline Adderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Another highly entertaining and enthusiastic outing in a series that's perfect for readers new to chapter books and as a captivating read-aloud. (Fiction. 5-8)"
Jasper John Dooley is being pretty Bad, but he's not entirely to blame. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEFT BEHIND by Caroline Adderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Early chapter book or read-aloud, this effort will leave its audience with lots of smiles, too. (Fiction. 5-8)"
After Jasper John Dooley's beloved Nan goes on vacation without him, he goes pththth. Read full book review >