Search Results: "Ben Coes"


BOOK REVIEW

TRAP THE DEVIL by Ben Coes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 27, 2017

"A very readable story which at times seems disconcertingly real."
A former Special Forces operative uncovers the sinister plot of a group of powerful extremists hidden deep within the American government. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EYE FOR AN EYE by Ben Coes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 9, 2013

"At a time when America's exceptionalism is hotly contested, this is a fine example of an exceptional American hero story."
Special Forces operative Dewey Andreas is out for vengeance after a botched assassination attempt kills the woman he loves in the latest from Coes (The Last Refuge, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDEPENDENCE DAY by Ben Coes
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 26, 2015

"A realistic and entertaining page turner."
Elite operative Dewey Andreas returns to protect America from nuclear annihilation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 3, 2012

"Pedestrian and predictable."
Private-equity partner and former Mitt Romney campaign manager Coes (Coup d'Etat, 2011, etc.) delivers his third installment featuring former Delta officer Dewey Andreas, this time involving a kidnapping and a nuclear crisis in the Middle East. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FISHING BROTHERS GRUFF by Ben Galbraith
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Illustrated with a garish tangle of photo-manipulated found objects, scowling painted figures and harvested fish—plus the occasional die-cut hole—this import will be best directed toward readers who need their lessons bludgeoned home. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Taking the familiar folk tale as his model but revising the ending considerably, Galbraith fashions a blunt cautionary tale aimed at heedless degraders of the environment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT CAME IN THE MAIL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 2016

"Surprisingly, no snails included. Still, more fun than bills and junk mail. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Sending mail to…a mailbox? Clever! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO! by Ben Newman
by Ben Newman, illustrated by Ben Newman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"A natural as a high-volume storytime ice breaker or lagniappe. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Everyone's afraid of something. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWORDS by Ben Boos
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Armchair warriors, junior members of the Society for Creative Anachronism and budding graphic artists will be riveted. (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 9-16)"
An unabashed browsing item, this big, square album is chock-full of digitally painted images of knives and swords, laid out in generic arrays with every nick, notch, decorative motif and gleaming highlight rendered in lovingly realistic detail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETEY by Ben Mikaelsen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"There are no accusations here, and despite some overly sentimentalized passages, the message comes through that every being deserves care, respect, and a chance to make a difference. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Born in 1920 with cerebral palsy and dismissed by ignorant doctors as feeble-minded, Petey Corbin spends all but the first two years of his long life institutionalized, his world barely larger than the walls of an asylum ward or, much later, nursing home. Read full book review >