Search Results: "Ben Green"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 14, 1992

"Top-drawer lowlife saga. (Eight pages of b&w photographs— not seen.)"
Appalling, fascinating story of murder for money and low- rent lust in the trailer courts and Dogpatches of Texas and Florida. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREEN by Benjamin Zucker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2002

"Multiple readings could perhaps yield more insight—not an onerous task since this is one of the more beautiful books in recent memory—but it's difficult to regard Green as anything more than a curio."
The brilliant minds of today and yesteryear crowd into the exquisitely designed pages of this odd folly of an art novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1999

"A tribute to the hard work and dedication of a forgotten hero in the battle for civil rights."
A fascinating chronicle that fills in an important but often overlooked gap in the early civil rights movement's history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREEN by Jay Lake
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 1, 2009

"An action-packed tale."
A stylish and intimate fantasy from Lake (Escapement, 2008, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >