Search Results: "Ben Greenman"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SLIPPAGE by Ben Greenman
Released: April 23, 2013

"A perfectly decent read, but it probably won't keep you up at night flipping pages."
Greenman's book examines the marriage and relationship of two imperfect, ordinary people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT HE’S POISED TO DO by Ben Greenman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2010

"An uneven collection, unlikely to create a new audience for Greenman."
More stories from the New Yorker editor and indie-lit notable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIG IF YOU WILL THE PICTURE by Ben Greenman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 11, 2017

"Likely not the definitive book on Prince, but certainly one that merits attention by fans and students of pop culture alike."
A satisfying portrait, warts included, of the Purple One, one-time heir to the thrones of James Brown and Jimi Hendrix alike. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMOTIONAL RESCUE by Ben Greenman
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Aug. 1, 2016

"The collection's promising evocation of 'communication and disconnection' leads to more repetition than illumination."
A collection of interconnected personal essays on the way musical favorites connect and disconnect us. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CELEBRITY CHEKHOV by Ben Greenman
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A derivative, exploitative literary stunt."
The stories of Anton Chekhov are hijacked by American celebrities in New Yorker editor Greenman's latest (What He's Poised to Do, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 18, 2013

"Fanatics and newcomers to the music will both find plenty of revelation here."
A thoughtful, incisive analysis of hip-hop—and pop music in general—from one of its foremost contemporary architects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM BRIAN WILSON by Brian Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"As a study in creativity, superb, though as memoir, partial and a touch reluctant. Whatever the case, essential for any Beach Boys fan."
Everyone's favorite musical mad scientist reveals a troubled yet hopeful life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUPERWORSE by Ben Greenman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Something extraordinary."
A "remix" of some previously published stories and funny bits that amuses, and amuses some more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BROTHAS BE, YO LIKE GEORGE, AIN'T THAT FUNKIN' KINDA HARD ON YOU? by George Clinton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 21, 2014

"Though sometimes too slow and a touch, well, normal, Clinton's memoir proves a treat for the many who love his work."
Uncle Jam's funkadactic crusade continues in a book that, though less rollicking than a fan might expect, still kicks it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >