Search Results: "Ben Hatke"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Imaginative and utterly bewitching. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
Lovable Zita returns in a charmingly dashing interplanetary adventure to save yet another doomed planet from impending peril. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JULIA'S HOUSE FOR LOST CREATURES by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Readers will want to move right in. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When a little girl opens her house to "lost creatures," chaos reigns until she sets rules for harmonious coexistence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZITA THE SPACEGIRL by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Be prepared to blast off; this debut is truly out of this world. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
A headstrong young girl makes a hasty decision and finds herself in a galaxy far, far away in this graphic-novel shining star. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY LIKES A GOBLIN by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"Endearing and entertaining: what's not to like—or love? (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small goblin finds courage when he defends a friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RETURN OF ZITA THE SPACEGIRL by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"Stellar. (Graphic science fiction. 8-13)"
After facing innumerable interstellar dangers, Zita finds herself locked in a dungeon. How will the plucky heroine escape now? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORM WHISPERER by Betty Hicks
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 22, 2013

"A satisfying ending neatly wraps up this warm story, and Hatke's occasional line drawings will add appeal for middle-grade readers. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Animal-obsessed Ellis Coffey hopes his pet woolly caterpillar will win the race at the Banner Elk Woolly Worm Festival and its $1,000 purse so he can pay the deductible for his father's back surgery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK AND THE GOBLIN KING by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"Another outstanding adventure from a master storyteller. (Graphic fantasy. 7-14)"
Jack and Lilly return in a new adventure in which they must navigate a fantastic and foreign land to save Jack's autistic sister, Maddy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >