Search Results: "Ben Hatke"


BOOK REVIEW

JULIA'S HOUSE FOR LOST CREATURES by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Readers will want to move right in. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When a little girl opens her house to "lost creatures," chaos reigns until she sets rules for harmonious coexistence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZITA THE SPACEGIRL by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Be prepared to blast off; this debut is truly out of this world. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
A headstrong young girl makes a hasty decision and finds herself in a galaxy far, far away in this graphic-novel shining star. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RETURN OF ZITA THE SPACEGIRL by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"Stellar. (Graphic science fiction. 8-13)"
After facing innumerable interstellar dangers, Zita finds herself locked in a dungeon. How will the plucky heroine escape now? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORM WHISPERER by Betty Hicks
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 22, 2013

"A satisfying ending neatly wraps up this warm story, and Hatke's occasional line drawings will add appeal for middle-grade readers. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Animal-obsessed Ellis Coffey hopes his pet woolly caterpillar will win the race at the Banner Elk Woolly Worm Festival and its $1,000 purse so he can pay the deductible for his father's back surgery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Imaginative and utterly bewitching. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
Lovable Zita returns in a charmingly dashing interplanetary adventure to save yet another doomed planet from impending peril. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY LIKES A GOBLIN by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"Endearing and entertaining: what's not to like—or love? (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small goblin finds courage when he defends a friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK AND THE GOBLIN KING by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"Another outstanding adventure from a master storyteller. (Graphic fantasy. 7-14)"
Jack and Lilly return in a new adventure in which they must navigate a fantastic and foreign land to save Jack's autistic sister, Maddy. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ROBOFICTION
by Leila Roy

This marks the very last week of my library’s Summer Reading Program, and I’ve been so busy working on all of the details—making lists of kids who’ve earned various merit badges, making lists of books to buy to celebrate said merit badges, printing out and personalizing a billion bookplates, etc—that reading has been ENTIRELY off the table.

That doesn’t mean ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FISHING BROTHERS GRUFF by Ben Galbraith
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Illustrated with a garish tangle of photo-manipulated found objects, scowling painted figures and harvested fish—plus the occasional die-cut hole—this import will be best directed toward readers who need their lessons bludgeoned home. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Taking the familiar folk tale as his model but revising the ending considerably, Galbraith fashions a blunt cautionary tale aimed at heedless degraders of the environment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT CAME IN THE MAIL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 2016

"Surprisingly, no snails included. Still, more fun than bills and junk mail. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Sending mail to…a mailbox? Clever! Read full book review >