Search Results: "Ben Hatke"


BOOK REVIEW

JULIA'S HOUSE FOR LOST CREATURES by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Readers will want to move right in. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When a little girl opens her house to "lost creatures," chaos reigns until she sets rules for harmonious coexistence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZITA THE SPACEGIRL by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Be prepared to blast off; this debut is truly out of this world. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
A headstrong young girl makes a hasty decision and finds herself in a galaxy far, far away in this graphic-novel shining star. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RETURN OF ZITA THE SPACEGIRL by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"Stellar. (Graphic science fiction. 8-13)"
After facing innumerable interstellar dangers, Zita finds herself locked in a dungeon. How will the plucky heroine escape now? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORM WHISPERER by Betty Hicks
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 22, 2013

"A satisfying ending neatly wraps up this warm story, and Hatke's occasional line drawings will add appeal for middle-grade readers. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Animal-obsessed Ellis Coffey hopes his pet woolly caterpillar will win the race at the Banner Elk Woolly Worm Festival and its $1,000 purse so he can pay the deductible for his father's back surgery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Imaginative and utterly bewitching. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
Lovable Zita returns in a charmingly dashing interplanetary adventure to save yet another doomed planet from impending peril. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY LIKES A GOBLIN by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"Endearing and entertaining: what's not to like—or love? (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small goblin finds courage when he defends a friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK AND THE GOBLIN KING by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"Another outstanding adventure from a master storyteller. (Graphic fantasy. 7-14)"
Jack and Lilly return in a new adventure in which they must navigate a fantastic and foreign land to save Jack's autistic sister, Maddy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FISHING BROTHERS GRUFF by Ben Galbraith
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Illustrated with a garish tangle of photo-manipulated found objects, scowling painted figures and harvested fish—plus the occasional die-cut hole—this import will be best directed toward readers who need their lessons bludgeoned home. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Taking the familiar folk tale as his model but revising the ending considerably, Galbraith fashions a blunt cautionary tale aimed at heedless degraders of the environment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT CAME IN THE MAIL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 2016

"Surprisingly, no snails included. Still, more fun than bills and junk mail. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Sending mail to…a mailbox? Clever! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO! by Ben Newman
by Ben Newman, illustrated by Ben Newman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"A natural as a high-volume storytime ice breaker or lagniappe. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Everyone's afraid of something. Read full book review >