Search Results: "Ben Kane"


BOOK REVIEW

CITIZEN KANE by Harlan Lebo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 26, 2016

"Published to coincide with the film's 75th anniversary, this book is a gold mine for fans."
Everything you wanted to know about one of the greatest films of all time—and then some. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Kane Moss by C.D. Tuttle
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2015

"A real treat for Western fans in need of a new fix."
Tuttle uses all the elements of classic Westerns and revenge stories in his debut novel about a Wyoming posse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPARTACUS: REBELLION by Ben Kane
Released: May 14, 2013

"The book's pulp-fiction cover art, where Spartacus looks rather like Mel Gibson, is somehow perfect."
This historical yarn from Kane (The Forgotten Legion, 2009, etc.) isn't your grandfather's Spartacus, or even Stanley Kubrick's. But it likely marks the first time that the Thracian gladiator, who began his rebellion against Rome in 73 B.C., ever charged into a sword battle with the words "We go for it!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING DOROTHY KANE by Judith Caseley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 14, 1992

"Like Hurricane Harry (1990), also about the Kanes, a disappointment from an accomplished picture book creator whose other venture into fiction was a perceptive YA novel, Kisses (1990). (Fiction. 6-10)"
Dorothy has all sorts of problems: middle of three, she has to share a bedroom with her younger brother; when her family moves to a big house, she loses her best friend; and when she transplants some pretty green things in her new backyard they turn out to be poison ivy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CITIZEN KANE BOOK by Pauline Kael
Released: Oct. 28, 1971

"Miss Kael's piece is, expectably, spankingly entertaining as well as informative and the dual project will have its new-old appeal."
The only name that doesn't belong above is that of Orson Welles', for if Citizen Kane was not only his greatest movie but is still as fresh as the day that it opened, he had nothing to do with "The Shooting Script" which, along with takes from it, and notes by Gary Carey, constitute three quarters of this book. Read full book review >