Search Results: "Ben Katchor"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CARDBOARD VALISE by Ben Katchor
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Feb. 15, 2011

"A parallel dimension that readers might find creatively charged or thematically exhausting."
The book-length publication of the acclaimed visual artist's weekly strips defies narrative convention as a graphic novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JEW OF NEW YORK by Ben Katchor
Released: Jan. 1, 1999

Statement Page Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 19, 2013

"Katchor's wry humor and unique view on the subject are well worth exploring."
The four-year collection of a visionary polymath's cartoons about urban living. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Shimon Peres
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"If the authors sometimes soar too high (calling Ben-Gurion a 'mythic figure' and a 'modern-day prophet'), readers must remember that this is history in the form of gratitude, not a disinterested dissertation."
The current Israeli president teams with a journalist to survey and celebrate the life of David Ben-Gurion (1886-1973), one of the founders of the State of Israel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN FRANKLIN by Alan Schroeder
ABC BOOKS
Released: April 1, 2011

"Outstanding. (Alphabet biography. 6-10)"
Two words in the subtitle totally encompass the approach of this highly creative alphabet biography—wit and wisdom. Read full book review >