Search Results: "Ben Kovar"


BOOK REVIEW

TROLL HUNTERS by Michael Dahl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2012

"A page-turner. (Horror. 10-13)"
"Beneath the vast volcanic lakes / Beneath the fiery core, / An ancient, ageless Evil wakes / And starts to rise once more." This poem sets the tone for a horror tale that offers middle-graders a fast, compelling read. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWORDS by Ben Boos
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Armchair warriors, junior members of the Society for Creative Anachronism and budding graphic artists will be riveted. (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 9-16)"
An unabashed browsing item, this big, square album is chock-full of digitally painted images of knives and swords, laid out in generic arrays with every nick, notch, decorative motif and gleaming highlight rendered in lovingly realistic detail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REX WRECKS IT! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"You can't hate a guy who's having this much fun, and you can't help but love a book that does the same. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An overenthusiastic T. Rex does what dinos do best: wreak total destruction! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOTE FOR ME! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"An ever-timely message, told in (two) primary colors. (Picture book. 4-8)"
What does it say that the nature and quality of our national political debate should be so baldly captured in a book for 4-year-olds? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NARWHAL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Swimmingly delightful and a guaranteed smile-maker. (Graphic fiction. 6-10)"
Undersea adventures have never been so darn cute. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY LIKES A GOBLIN by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"Endearing and entertaining: what's not to like—or love? (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small goblin finds courage when he defends a friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO WHO? by Ben Clanton
by Ben Clanton, illustrated by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A great example for both new kids and those welcoming them—at Halloween or for the rest of the year. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The new kid in town has more trouble than most fitting in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 16, 2015

"The slowly dawning message will elicit excitement about spring, wishing, and the ability to decode a narrative. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Bored with the familiar, this young daydreamer imagines how life could be different. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JULIA'S HOUSE FOR LOST CREATURES by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Readers will want to move right in. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When a little girl opens her house to "lost creatures," chaos reigns until she sets rules for harmonious coexistence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO FLUNG DUNG? by Ben Redlich
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"A heaping flop, even for children who fall on this sort of humor and devour it with relish. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Redlich dumps off a single-joke solo debut in which the simian victim of a fecal prank goes around repeating the titular enquiry over and over. And over. Read full book review >