Search Results: "Ben Marcus"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 20, 2011

"Intellectual, playful prose cannot save this vampire epic from soaking too long in a broth of Rice and Meyer."
Vampiric gods, wolves and human frailty round out Koppenhagen's story of timeless love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR MARCUS by Jerry McGill
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2012

"Such a literary flourish is an exception to the matter-of-fact approach that characterizes the narrative, where most of the lessons learned are plainspoken, but also hard won."
An inspirational memoir by a writer who refuses to be defined by his paralysis, as he comes to terms with the unknown man who shot him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTABLE AMERICAN WOMEN by Ben Marcus
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 12, 2002

"Dazzling, genius-driven—and, alas, often tedious."
Marcus follows up his extraordinary The Age of Wire and String (1995) with something of a disappointment. The verbal wizardry is still there, but the content has grown coquettish and slightened, no longer an engine sufficient to drive the whole. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEW AMERICAN STORIES by Ben Marcus
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 21, 2015

"For students of the short story form, a handy gathering, though it's in need of more interpretation."
Middling collection of new stories, some by very old hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEAVING THE SEA by Ben Marcus
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 8, 2014

"Thoughtful, sometimes-exasperating, boundary-pushing fiction."
Fifteen tales of modern anxiety that display Marcus' range, from angry realism to mind-bending allegory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

 THE FLAME ALPHABET by Ben Marcus
Released: Jan. 20, 2012

"Marcus has imagination to spare, but the religious Jewish theme is not a comfortable fit with a raging epidemic, and the suspense ebbs away."
Beware of children—their language will kill you. That's the premise of this offbeat disaster novel from Marcus (Notable American Women, 2002, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AGE OF WIRE AND STRING by Ben Marcus
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 2, 1995

"A rare, genius-struck achievement intended to warn readers into looking at the truth anew; not easy, but filled always with great beauties, high themes, enormous sorrows."
It's possible these shouldn't be called ``stories''maybe thought-fictionsbut perhaps it doesn't matter: Marcus's debut volume has a grace, complexity, and literary ambition that put it at the highest rank. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN MARCUS MOORE MOVED IN by Rebecca Bond
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2003

"In addition to relating the joy of discovering a new playmate, the work validates the anxiety of children being displaced by a move (despite the glossy ending), making it doubly worthwhile. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Although Marcus Moore's moving day begins lonely and empty; it closes with a new best friend found on a bustling block. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >