Search Results: "Ben Mikaelsen"


BOOK REVIEW

RED MIDNIGHT by Ben Mikaelsen
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2002

"Mikaelsen's (Touching Spirit Bear, 2001, etc.) fans, who expect him to produce a gripping tale of overcoming dangers, will not be disappointed. (author's note) (Fiction. 11+)"
In this suspenseful survival story, a 12-year-old Guatemalan boy and his 4-year-old sister escape their burning home, where soldiers have killed their family, and try to make their way to the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOUCHING SPIRIT BEAR by Ben Mikaelsen
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 28, 2001

"As melodramatic and well-meaning as the teens it targets. (Fiction. YA)"
Troubled teen meets totemic catalyst in Mikaelsen's (Petey, 1998, etc.) earnest tribute to Native American spirituality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETEY by Ben Mikaelsen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"There are no accusations here, and despite some overly sentimentalized passages, the message comes through that every being deserves care, respect, and a chance to make a difference. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Born in 1920 with cerebral palsy and dismissed by ignorant doctors as feeble-minded, Petey Corbin spends all but the first two years of his long life institutionalized, his world barely larger than the walls of an asylum ward or, much later, nursing home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUNGLE OF BONES by Ben Mikaelsen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Apparently, it takes a jungle to raise a child, and Dylan's story will connect with readers seeking adventure. (author's note) (Adventure. 9-13)"
Dylan Barstow, "major screw-up from Wisconsin," finds his life changed by a trip to Papua New Guinea. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GHOST OF SPIRIT BEAR by Ben Mikaelsen
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2008

Now for a Very Special Episode of Spirit Bear... Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TREE GIRL by Ben Mikaelsen
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2004

"Still, a bitter and crucial story that needs to be told. (Fiction. YA)"
Mikaelsen offers a chilling account of the Mayan genocide in Guatemala. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPARROW HAWK RED by Ben Mikaelsen
ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 1993

"Innocent and appealing. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Ricardo (``Ricky'') lives with his widower father Benito in an Arizona border town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >