Search Results: "Ben Mikaelsen"


BOOK REVIEW

JUNGLE OF BONES by Ben Mikaelsen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Apparently, it takes a jungle to raise a child, and Dylan's story will connect with readers seeking adventure. (author's note) (Adventure. 9-13)"
Dylan Barstow, "major screw-up from Wisconsin," finds his life changed by a trip to Papua New Guinea. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED MIDNIGHT by Ben Mikaelsen
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2002

"Mikaelsen's (Touching Spirit Bear, 2001, etc.) fans, who expect him to produce a gripping tale of overcoming dangers, will not be disappointed. (author's note) (Fiction. 11+)"
In this suspenseful survival story, a 12-year-old Guatemalan boy and his 4-year-old sister escape their burning home, where soldiers have killed their family, and try to make their way to the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETEY by Ben Mikaelsen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"There are no accusations here, and despite some overly sentimentalized passages, the message comes through that every being deserves care, respect, and a chance to make a difference. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Born in 1920 with cerebral palsy and dismissed by ignorant doctors as feeble-minded, Petey Corbin spends all but the first two years of his long life institutionalized, his world barely larger than the walls of an asylum ward or, much later, nursing home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOUCHING SPIRIT BEAR by Ben Mikaelsen
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 28, 2001

"As melodramatic and well-meaning as the teens it targets. (Fiction. YA)"
Troubled teen meets totemic catalyst in Mikaelsen's (Petey, 1998, etc.) earnest tribute to Native American spirituality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TREE GIRL by Ben Mikaelsen
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2004

"Still, a bitter and crucial story that needs to be told. (Fiction. YA)"
Mikaelsen offers a chilling account of the Mayan genocide in Guatemala. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GHOST OF SPIRIT BEAR by Ben Mikaelsen
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2008

Now for a Very Special Episode of Spirit Bear... Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPARROW HAWK RED by Ben Mikaelsen
ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 1993

"Innocent and appealing. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Ricardo (``Ricky'') lives with his widower father Benito in an Arizona border town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWORDS by Ben Boos
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Armchair warriors, junior members of the Society for Creative Anachronism and budding graphic artists will be riveted. (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 9-16)"
An unabashed browsing item, this big, square album is chock-full of digitally painted images of knives and swords, laid out in generic arrays with every nick, notch, decorative motif and gleaming highlight rendered in lovingly realistic detail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REX WRECKS IT! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"You can't hate a guy who's having this much fun, and you can't help but love a book that does the same. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An overenthusiastic T. Rex does what dinos do best: wreak total destruction! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOTE FOR ME! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"An ever-timely message, told in (two) primary colors. (Picture book. 4-8)"
What does it say that the nature and quality of our national political debate should be so baldly captured in a book for 4-year-olds? Read full book review >