Search Results: "Ben Miller"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 12, 2013

"A brick of a memoir that carries very little real weight."
A New York City intellectual recalls his childhood in Davenport, Iowa. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A lively, thoughtful look at a scientific frontier that captures our imagination while posing a serious moral question about our responsibilities as citizens of the universe."
Why the search for extraterrestrial intelligence is no longer just the province of science fiction but rather "the emergent belief of a generation of physicists, biologists and chemists that we are not alone." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BUSTLE IN THE HEDGEROW by Ben Miller
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 25, 2013

"An unrelenting debut thriller that reads like the work of a pro."
In Miller's debut, an FBI agent looking to leave the bureau for a career in politics gets pulled back in when a killer uses cryptic messages to toy with investigators. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MARY MILLER
by Stephanie Buschardt

Despite its title, there’s not a lot of happiness going around in Mary Miller’s new collection, Always Happy Hour. “There is nothing more disgusting, really, than people enjoying themselves so thoroughly when you’re miserable,” writes Miller in the book’s opening story, a rather grim yet appropriate introduction to the morbid hilarity that’s to come in the following pages. More ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

2016 HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE FOR SCIENCE FICTION, FANTASY & HORROR FANS (PART 1)
by John DeNardo

The holidays are approaching, which means it's time for family & friends, egg nog, and the annual panic of deciding what gifts to buy. But fear not! I'm here to offer up a tempting selection of gift ideas for the science fiction, fantasy, and horror fans on your gift list. 

For fans who are avid fiction readers ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JAMES PARKS AND BEN COSTA
by Alex Heimbach

“A skeleton and a slime walk into a bar…” That may sound like the wind up to a very nerdy joke, but it’s actually the set up for a scene in James Parks and Ben Costa’s new YA graphic novel, Rickety Stitch and the Gelatinous Goo: The Road to Epoli, which, to be fair, is full of very nerdy — ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG! by Ben Mantle
by Ben Mantle, illustrated by Ben Mantle
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"While the covers of both titles suggest lots of interaction, the pages within fail to deliver the goods. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An ode to various kinds of hugs as enacted by various animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TABLE SETS ITSELF by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Clanton makes chores a delight! (Picture book. 4-8)"
A young girl receives a new responsibility, but when the prized task becomes a boring duty, she and her tableware friends must find a way to keep things fresh and funny in this winning tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Imaginative and utterly bewitching. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
Lovable Zita returns in a charmingly dashing interplanetary adventure to save yet another doomed planet from impending peril. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREAT-UNCLE ALFRED FORGETS by Ben Shecter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 29, 1996

"They fairly radiate with the affection between these two characters as they struggle to communicate. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A fragmentary conversation between Emily and Great-Uncle Alfred, who is increasingly forgetful; his questions and statements are sometimes funny, sometimes lyrical, sometimes philosophical, and sometimes saggy—the dialogue is a little too realistic in its stops and starts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROT, THE CUTEST IN THE WORLD! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 19, 2017

"The kitten has an argument, but readers would be hard put to find a decomposing spud with a more winning personality. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A "mutant potato" with mottled skin and mismatched eyes enters a cuteness contest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CARDBOARD VALISE by Ben Katchor
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Feb. 15, 2011

"A parallel dimension that readers might find creatively charged or thematically exhausting."
The book-length publication of the acclaimed visual artist's weekly strips defies narrative convention as a graphic novel. Read full book review >