Search Results: "Ben Rawlence"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"A distressing but important read."
A firsthand report from deep inside Congo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"A significant, timely, and gloomy tale that reveals the human costs of a growing world crisis."
Former Human Rights Watch researcher Rawlence (Radio Congo: Signals of Hope from Africa's Deadliest War, 2012) tells the distressing story of Kenya's vast Dadaab refugee camp, where nearly 500,000 people fleeing civil war in nearby Somalia live in a "teeming ramshackle metropolis" the size of Atlanta.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MINDING BEN by Victoria Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2011

"Despite lyrical prose, the narrative does not develop so much as unravel according to vagaries of chance. The Bruckners' casual cruelty beggars belief, but Grace's inability to fight back is even more implausible. However, Brown is a new voice with much to offer."
Trinidad teen journeys to America in 1989, only to find herself trapped in thankless domestic drudgery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 7, 2010

"A self-indulgent self-help experiment that yields little."
One man's futile quest to live up to Benjamin Franklin's famous virtues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS BEN by Catherine Gilbert Murdock
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2008

"An amusing, heartwarming adventure put forth in richly flavored prose. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Princess Benevolence isn't a run-of-the-mill spoiled princess. Read full book review >