Search Results: "Ben Rawlence"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"A significant, timely, and gloomy tale that reveals the human costs of a growing world crisis."
Former Human Rights Watch researcher Rawlence (Radio Congo: Signals of Hope from Africa's Deadliest War, 2012) tells the distressing story of Kenya's vast Dadaab refugee camp, where nearly 500,000 people fleeing civil war in nearby Somalia live in a "teeming ramshackle metropolis" the size of Atlanta.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"A distressing but important read."
A firsthand report from deep inside Congo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG! by Ben Mantle
by Ben Mantle, illustrated by Ben Mantle
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"While the covers of both titles suggest lots of interaction, the pages within fail to deliver the goods. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An ode to various kinds of hugs as enacted by various animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TABLE SETS ITSELF by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Clanton makes chores a delight! (Picture book. 4-8)"
A young girl receives a new responsibility, but when the prized task becomes a boring duty, she and her tableware friends must find a way to keep things fresh and funny in this winning tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Imaginative and utterly bewitching. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
Lovable Zita returns in a charmingly dashing interplanetary adventure to save yet another doomed planet from impending peril. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREAT-UNCLE ALFRED FORGETS by Ben Shecter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 29, 1996

"They fairly radiate with the affection between these two characters as they struggle to communicate. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A fragmentary conversation between Emily and Great-Uncle Alfred, who is increasingly forgetful; his questions and statements are sometimes funny, sometimes lyrical, sometimes philosophical, and sometimes saggy—the dialogue is a little too realistic in its stops and starts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROT, THE CUTEST IN THE WORLD! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 19, 2017

"The kitten has an argument, but readers would be hard put to find a decomposing spud with a more winning personality. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A "mutant potato" with mottled skin and mismatched eyes enters a cuteness contest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CARDBOARD VALISE by Ben Katchor
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Feb. 15, 2011

"A parallel dimension that readers might find creatively charged or thematically exhausting."
The book-length publication of the acclaimed visual artist's weekly strips defies narrative convention as a graphic novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWORDS by Ben Boos
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Armchair warriors, junior members of the Society for Creative Anachronism and budding graphic artists will be riveted. (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 9-16)"
An unabashed browsing item, this big, square album is chock-full of digitally painted images of knives and swords, laid out in generic arrays with every nick, notch, decorative motif and gleaming highlight rendered in lovingly realistic detail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REX WRECKS IT! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"You can't hate a guy who's having this much fun, and you can't help but love a book that does the same. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An overenthusiastic T. Rex does what dinos do best: wreak total destruction! Read full book review >