Search Results: "Ben Redlich"


BOOK REVIEW

WHO FLUNG DUNG? by Ben Redlich
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"A heaping flop, even for children who fall on this sort of humor and devour it with relish. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Redlich dumps off a single-joke solo debut in which the simian victim of a fecal prank goes around repeating the titular enquiry over and over. And over. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CIRCUS CARNIVORE by Mark Svendsen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 11, 2006

"Fans of jabberwockish rhymes might stay the course, but most readers will get lost. (Picture book. 8-10)"
Overproduced to the point of semi-legibility, this Australian import folds mannered verses laced with nonsense words into hyper-complicated paint/collage scenes featuring weirdly distorted figures and zillions of clipped-out words and phrases in English and German. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT MONTEFIASCO by Colin Thompson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Pleasant tale, but the pictures are the real draw. (Picture book. 6-8)"
This import from Down Under pairs baroque illustrations to a heartwarming tale featuring a bumbling magician who doesn't realize that his on-stage accidents bring "far more happiness to the world than any ordinary card trick ever could," until he hires, then falls in love with, Betty, a shy and equally inept assistant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COWZAT by Bruce Atherton
by Bruce Atherton, illustrated by Ben Redlich, developed by Colour Me Interactive
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 17, 2013

"Udderly engaging, if an innings short of a finished match. (iPad storybook app. 6-8)"
Melodramatic Aussie narration and broadly comical art milk this tale of cricket's origins Down Under for all it's worth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HITLER by Fritz Redlich
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

"Not an original thesis, but an articulate addition to the literature."
A study of Hitler's physical and psychological infirmities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FISHING BROTHERS GRUFF by Ben Galbraith
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Illustrated with a garish tangle of photo-manipulated found objects, scowling painted figures and harvested fish—plus the occasional die-cut hole—this import will be best directed toward readers who need their lessons bludgeoned home. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Taking the familiar folk tale as his model but revising the ending considerably, Galbraith fashions a blunt cautionary tale aimed at heedless degraders of the environment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT CAME IN THE MAIL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 2016

"Surprisingly, no snails included. Still, more fun than bills and junk mail. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Sending mail to…a mailbox? Clever! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO! by Ben Newman
by Ben Newman, illustrated by Ben Newman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"A natural as a high-volume storytime ice breaker or lagniappe. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Everyone's afraid of something. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REX WRECKS IT! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"You can't hate a guy who's having this much fun, and you can't help but love a book that does the same. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An overenthusiastic T. Rex does what dinos do best: wreak total destruction! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOTE FOR ME! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"An ever-timely message, told in (two) primary colors. (Picture book. 4-8)"
What does it say that the nature and quality of our national political debate should be so baldly captured in a book for 4-year-olds? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NARWHAL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Swimmingly delightful and a guaranteed smile-maker. (Graphic fiction. 6-10)"
Undersea adventures have never been so darn cute. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY LIKES A GOBLIN by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"Endearing and entertaining: what's not to like—or love? (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small goblin finds courage when he defends a friend. Read full book review >