Search Results: "Ben Rice"


BOOK REVIEW

RICE by Su Tong
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

"Balzac and Zola would have recognized a kindred spirit in Su Tong, whose extraordinary pictures of the extremes to which human beings drive one another and themselves seem scarcely inferior to their own."
This riveting melodrama is the first full-length novel in English from the young Chinese author of the brilliant novella Raise the Red Lantern (1993). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POBBY AND DINGAN by Ben Rice
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 5, 2000

"Some will grumble, feeling manipulated, while many, many more will shed a quiet tear or two."
Out of Australia's rough-and-tumble opal country, London-dwelling Rice's debut extracts a sweet little nougat—or, it might be said, a chunk of shameless melodrama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER THE RICE by Wendy French
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2006

"French effortlessly takes on a heavy personal dilemma without diminishing the fun."
Frazzled newlywed craves time alone with her husband, but their farcical families—and, on a less-silly note, her body—refuse to obey her wishes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 31, 2006

"Very funny novel that misses few opportunities, but one that is invariably respectful, compassionate and often downright admiring toward its cast of clowns."
A deeply-felt, brilliantly written comedy about…the Vietnam War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD-BYE, CHUNKY RICE by Craig Thompson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 9, 2006

"For characters who must pursue their own destinies, love is as boundless as the sea."
Though the title and the deceptively simple character drawings suggest a kids' comic, rarely are graphic novels aimed at adults as sweetly affecting as this. Read full book review >