Search Results: "Ben Schrank"


BOOK REVIEW

LOVE IS A CANOE by Ben Schrank
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"A wise imagining of modern-day love, unromantic but never cynical."
The revival of a classic self-help book reveals some raw emotions in this canny novel by Schrank (Consent, 2002, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONSENT by Ben Schrank
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 19, 2002

"Intelligently done: a nice kaleidoscope of emotion, history, and regret."
A melancholy account of a young man's attempt to discover the meaning of his father's death—and the path of his own future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 14, 2015

"A remarkable chronicle of a multigenerational struggle in Burma bringing about important change."
A dogged journalist penetrates the deeply secretive dissident underground in Burma's police state in this compelling look into a traumatized society in flux. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 1998

"But there are also wonderfully told stories here that are a textbook on how to organize everything from a street-corner rally to a union."
Schrank's autobiography would be a yawner—yet another memoir of a radical who decided to get comfortable—if he weren't a good storyteller and if he didn't write from the point of view of a union member and organizer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 16, 2015

"The slowly dawning message will elicit excitement about spring, wishing, and the ability to decode a narrative. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Bored with the familiar, this young daydreamer imagines how life could be different. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JULIA'S HOUSE FOR LOST CREATURES by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Readers will want to move right in. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When a little girl opens her house to "lost creatures," chaos reigns until she sets rules for harmonious coexistence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO FLUNG DUNG? by Ben Redlich
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"A heaping flop, even for children who fall on this sort of humor and devour it with relish. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Redlich dumps off a single-joke solo debut in which the simian victim of a fecal prank goes around repeating the titular enquiry over and over. And over. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZITA THE SPACEGIRL by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Be prepared to blast off; this debut is truly out of this world. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
A headstrong young girl makes a hasty decision and finds herself in a galaxy far, far away in this graphic-novel shining star. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT PESKY TOASTER! by Ben Hillman
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 1995

"A minor understanding of astrophysics is required, but for readers in the know, the book pays back in spades. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Goldie's toaster may look like a cross between an Electrolux and a bull terrier, but there's a whole lot more than heat in those coils. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JAMES PARKS AND BEN COSTA
by Alex Heimbach

“A skeleton and a slime walk into a bar…” That may sound like the wind up to a very nerdy joke, but it’s actually the set up for a scene in James Parks and Ben Costa’s new YA graphic novel, Rickety Stitch and the Gelatinous Goo: The Road to Epoli, which, to be fair, is full of very nerdy — ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

JUNGLE OF BONES by Ben Mikaelsen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Apparently, it takes a jungle to raise a child, and Dylan's story will connect with readers seeking adventure. (author's note) (Adventure. 9-13)"
Dylan Barstow, "major screw-up from Wisconsin," finds his life changed by a trip to Papua New Guinea. Read full book review >