Search Results: "Ben Williams"


BOOK REVIEW

MR. WILLIAMS by Karen Barbour
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"What a delightful way to show young readers 'how it was back then.' (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
Mr. J.W. Williams grew up in rural Louisiana during the Depression. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TENNESSEE WILLIAMS by John Lahr
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 22, 2014

"There is only one word for this biography: superb."
The tormented life of a celebrated American playwright. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS by Simon Heffer
Released: April 6, 2001

"Brevity may be the soul of wit, but biography often deserves a little bit more."
A slender biography of English composer Vaughan Williams that pays more attention to the music than the man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 26, 1994

"Spankingly well-produced with superb illustrations."
The biographer of Nietzsche, Kafka, Brecht, Sartre, Proust and de Sade takes on Tennessee Williams with intelligent, neatly weighed but uninspired results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRIC BEN by Robert Byrd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"A work of breadth and energy, just like its subject; engaging and brimming with appeal for a wide audience. (Biography. 8-14)"
A beautifully realized labor of love and affection brings to life one of our brightest founding fathers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR HANK WILLIAMS by Kimberly Willis Holt
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 19, 2015

"Soulful and satisfying. (Historical fiction. 8-12)"
Tate has gumption, and it's a good thing: She's the only one who has faith in her ability to sing—except for her little brother, Frog, and everyone seems surprised whenever Tate mentions him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2012

"A baseball hero and an American hero, the last player to hit over .400 in a season; here, Ted Williams is introduced to a new generation of baseball fans. (author's note, statistics, bibliography) (Picture book/ biography. 6-10)"
Ted Williams' goal was, as the subtitle suggests, to be the greatest hitter who ever lived. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >