Search Results: "Ben Wilson"


BOOK REVIEW

HEYDAY by Ben Wilson
NON-FICTION
Released: April 12, 2016

"An above-average addition to the when-the-modern-age-began genre."
Did the modern world begin during World War I, in 1945, or perhaps with the steam engine in the 1700s? British historian Wilson (What Price Liberty!: How Freedom Was Won and Is Being Lost, 2009, etc.) makes an engrossing case for the dozen years after 1850.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 19, 2007

"A keen, compassionate understanding of the era."
They didn't emerge full-blown from the prissy head of history: The values we now associate with the Victorians were formed by the experiences, mores and manners of their immediate ancestors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM BRIAN WILSON by Brian Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"As a study in creativity, superb, though as memoir, partial and a touch reluctant. Whatever the case, essential for any Beach Boys fan."
Everyone's favorite musical mad scientist reveals a troubled yet hopeful life. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JAMES PARKS AND BEN COSTA
by Alex Heimbach

“A skeleton and a slime walk into a bar…” That may sound like the wind up to a very nerdy joke, but it’s actually the set up for a scene in James Parks and Ben Costa’s new YA graphic novel, Rickety Stitch and the Gelatinous Goo: The Road to Epoli, which, to be fair, is full of very nerdy — ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ROBOT by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12)"
Possibilities abound for a small, brown-skinned girl with time, a tool belt, and a penchant for urban adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWORDS by Ben Boos
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Armchair warriors, junior members of the Society for Creative Anachronism and budding graphic artists will be riveted. (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 9-16)"
An unabashed browsing item, this big, square album is chock-full of digitally painted images of knives and swords, laid out in generic arrays with every nick, notch, decorative motif and gleaming highlight rendered in lovingly realistic detail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGHTY JACK by Ben Hatke
Kirkus Star
by Ben Hatke, illustrated by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Very mighty indeed. (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)"
A comic-book riff on the classic tale of "Jack and the Beanstalk," in which an impoverished young boy learns that his new garden has a mind of its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG! by Ben Mantle
by Ben Mantle, illustrated by Ben Mantle
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"While the covers of both titles suggest lots of interaction, the pages within fail to deliver the goods. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An ode to various kinds of hugs as enacted by various animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TABLE SETS ITSELF by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Clanton makes chores a delight! (Picture book. 4-8)"
A young girl receives a new responsibility, but when the prized task becomes a boring duty, she and her tableware friends must find a way to keep things fresh and funny in this winning tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Imaginative and utterly bewitching. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
Lovable Zita returns in a charmingly dashing interplanetary adventure to save yet another doomed planet from impending peril. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREAT-UNCLE ALFRED FORGETS by Ben Shecter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 29, 1996

"They fairly radiate with the affection between these two characters as they struggle to communicate. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A fragmentary conversation between Emily and Great-Uncle Alfred, who is increasingly forgetful; his questions and statements are sometimes funny, sometimes lyrical, sometimes philosophical, and sometimes saggy—the dialogue is a little too realistic in its stops and starts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CARDBOARD VALISE by Ben Katchor
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Feb. 15, 2011

"A parallel dimension that readers might find creatively charged or thematically exhausting."
The book-length publication of the acclaimed visual artist's weekly strips defies narrative convention as a graphic novel. Read full book review >