Search Results: "Ben Yagoda"


BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO NOT WRITE BAD by Ben Yagoda
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"It won't take the place of Strunk and White, but a useful addition to any writer's bookshelf."
A forgiving—a purist might say overly forgiving—handbook for those in need of remedial grammar lessons, a category that includes most college students. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL ROGERS by Ben Yagoda
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 17, 1993

"So immediate you can scratch a match on his boot sole. (Photographs)"
Clear as a Walker Evans photo: a biography of folk-humorist Will Rogers (1879-1935), who, like Cary Grant and Humphrey Bogart, grew into his mask, becoming the image of wry, genial common sense until his death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEMOIR by Ben Yagoda
Released: Nov. 12, 2009

"Substantial, engaging and convincing."
Under the memoir sun there's nothing new—just a lot more of it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 22, 2015

"A provocative, consistently engaging counternarrative to the conventional wisdom that rock 'n' roll killed Tin Pan Alley."
The latest from Yagoda (Journalism/Delaware Univ.; How to Not Write Bad, 2013, etc.) shows good ears, strong critical instincts and an unabashed love for a variety of music, including the rock 'n' roll that supposedly closed the pages on the Great American Songbook—the few hundred standards that have endured through a wide variety of distinctive interpretations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABOUT TOWN by Ben Yagoda
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Feb. 28, 2000

"The revelation is how often The New Yorker has earned these rapturous assessments for 75 years. (b&w illus., most not seen)"
After five years of research among The New Yorker's voluminous records, Yagoda (English/Univ. of Delaware; Will Rogers, 1993, etc.) has produced an awesomely comprehensive biography of an American institution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 19, 1996

"MPSLUGDR Ruth's advice on sex has helped create new ideas about relationships; this feisty work may help stiffen the spines of the inventive men and women who are now trying to redefine the American family. (Author tour; TV satellite tour)"
Dr. Ruth takes on Dan Quayle and the politics of ``family values'' with a spirited book that packs the straightforward, common-sense punch she is noted for. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >