Search Results: "Ben Yagoda"


BOOK REVIEW

MEMOIR by Ben Yagoda
Released: Nov. 12, 2009

"Substantial, engaging and convincing."
Under the memoir sun there's nothing new—just a lot more of it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO NOT WRITE BAD by Ben Yagoda
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"It won't take the place of Strunk and White, but a useful addition to any writer's bookshelf."
A forgiving—a purist might say overly forgiving—handbook for those in need of remedial grammar lessons, a category that includes most college students. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 19, 1996

"MPSLUGDR Ruth's advice on sex has helped create new ideas about relationships; this feisty work may help stiffen the spines of the inventive men and women who are now trying to redefine the American family. (Author tour; TV satellite tour)"
Dr. Ruth takes on Dan Quayle and the politics of ``family values'' with a spirited book that packs the straightforward, common-sense punch she is noted for. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 22, 2015

"A provocative, consistently engaging counternarrative to the conventional wisdom that rock 'n' roll killed Tin Pan Alley."
The latest from Yagoda (Journalism/Delaware Univ.; How to Not Write Bad, 2013, etc.) shows good ears, strong critical instincts and an unabashed love for a variety of music, including the rock 'n' roll that supposedly closed the pages on the Great American Songbook—the few hundred standards that have endured through a wide variety of distinctive interpretations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABOUT TOWN by Ben Yagoda
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Feb. 28, 2000

"The revelation is how often The New Yorker has earned these rapturous assessments for 75 years. (b&w illus., most not seen)"
After five years of research among The New Yorker's voluminous records, Yagoda (English/Univ. of Delaware; Will Rogers, 1993, etc.) has produced an awesomely comprehensive biography of an American institution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL ROGERS by Ben Yagoda
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 17, 1993

"So immediate you can scratch a match on his boot sole. (Photographs)"
Clear as a Walker Evans photo: a biography of folk-humorist Will Rogers (1879-1935), who, like Cary Grant and Humphrey Bogart, grew into his mask, becoming the image of wry, genial common sense until his death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REX WRECKS IT! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"You can't hate a guy who's having this much fun, and you can't help but love a book that does the same. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An overenthusiastic T. Rex does what dinos do best: wreak total destruction! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOTE FOR ME! by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"An ever-timely message, told in (two) primary colors. (Picture book. 4-8)"
What does it say that the nature and quality of our national political debate should be so baldly captured in a book for 4-year-olds? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NARWHAL by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Swimmingly delightful and a guaranteed smile-maker. (Graphic fiction. 6-10)"
Undersea adventures have never been so darn cute. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY LIKES A GOBLIN by Ben Hatke
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"Endearing and entertaining: what's not to like—or love? (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small goblin finds courage when he defends a friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO WHO? by Ben Clanton
by Ben Clanton, illustrated by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A great example for both new kids and those welcoming them—at Halloween or for the rest of the year. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The new kid in town has more trouble than most fitting in. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JAMES PARKS AND BEN COSTA
by Alex Heimbach

“A skeleton and a slime walk into a bar…” That may sound like the wind up to a very nerdy joke, but it’s actually the set up for a scene in James Parks and Ben Costa’s new YA graphic novel, Rickety Stitch and the Gelatinous Goo: The Road to Epoli, which, to be fair, is full of very nerdy — ...


Read the full post >