Search Results: "Beth Ain"


BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (AS HERSELF) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Though not as distinctive as Clementine, Jules eventually settles, becoming a vulnerable and likable heroine. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Seven-year-old Jules has been asked to audition for a television commercial. But she needs help. Will she turn to her know-it-all ex-best friend for it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (SUPER-SECRET SPY GIRL) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of Jules' previous books will enjoy seeing the soon-to-be-third-grader back in action as she exuberantly experiences the busy life of a budding television and film star. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Even though she'll be spending it in Quebec filming a movie, child actress Jules' summer is not off to a good start. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IZZY KLINE HAS BUTTERFLIES by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"Light, bright, and believable, just right for young middle graders. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Small moments, both good and bad, characterize Izzy Kline's fourth-grade year, the year she finds a new best friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)—this time for a television sitcom—with New York City-sized tension and hilarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC GULLS by Beth Rand
by Beth Rand, illustrated by Beth Rand
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 28, 2017

"Kids without a frame of reference will still get a kick out of these goofy gulls. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Take a seaside location, add a colony of gulls and the alphabet, and the result is a clever abecedary specific to Maine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE THING STOLEN by Beth Kephart
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Disturbing, sometimes unsettling and ultimately offering a sliver of hope, this effort rivetingly captures the destructive effects of mental and physical illness on a likable, sweet-natured teen. (Fiction. 11-18)"
Something very bad is happening to 17-year-old Nadia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMALL DAMAGES by Beth Kephart
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 19, 2012

"Lovely and unusual—at once epic and intimate. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
A young woman is forced into unexpected territory when she is packed off to a vividly imagined, shimmering Spanish countryside in order to conceal an unexpected pregnancy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHELTER by Beth Cooley
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 14, 2006

"Readers will find a moving glimpse into a different kind of life, with the more frightening aspects downplayed. (Fiction. YA)"
Sixteen-year-old Lucy's family has been in a downward economic and emotional spiral since the death of her father several months earlier. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORIGINAL SIN by Beth McMullen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2011

"Sally's slapdash, offhand delivery is fun even though the exposition is laborious and the payoff too long delayed—perhaps anticipating the second planned Sally Sin Adventure."
In McMullen's debut, a former spy tries to forget her past and lead a "normal" life as a Bay Area wife and mother—if only her past would forget her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOMESTIC PLEASURES by Beth Gutcheon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 1991

"A delicious and satisfying read."
After a ten-year hiatus from novels, Gutcheon (The New Girls, 1979; Still Missing, 1981) offers a contemporary tale about the state of domestic life in the Big Applea surprisingly upbeat story of romantic love complicated by exes and adolescent offspring, if somewhat cushioned by money. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO CLONE A MAMMOTH by Beth Shapiro
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2015

"Extinction is still forever, writes Shapiro, but fashioning a first cousin—with all its intriguing and alarming possibilities—possessing the same behavioral quirks is within reach."
MacArthur fellow Shapiro (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology/Univ. of California, Santa Cruz) considers the nature and prospects of "de-extinction," the return of creatures gone the way of the dodo. Read full book review >